Supporting Small Businesses : Organic Farm-Fresh Eggs

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

We always get our fresh eggs from this nice old lady selling them in the corner of KFC San Pablo. She is usually there every Thursdays. I find it sad that Nanay still has to work hard despite her age, but she says that she needs to work in order to buy her meds, which can be a sad reality for a lot of the senior folks here in the Philippines.

here's a photo of nanay

It's a good thing that Zepp is fond of scrambled eggs and can eat them everyday. I also like putting them in my instant noodles, so our family consumes a lot of them, about a tray a week in fact (that's 30 eggs!).

she can be found here every thursdays

I always make sure that I can find the time to drop by the corner where Nanay frequents so I can purchase her eggs and help her in my own little way.

they're yuge -- bigly yuge. And I have big hobbit hands.

They are sold at Php10 a piece. A bit more expensive than those found in the supermarket, but I do not mind. They are also double-yolked, the shells are thick, and the yolks have a rich color which I love. Perfect for sunny-side ups. Being double-yolked also means that it's a bit challenging to make the perfect AjitsukeTamago (Japanese solf boiled eggs with the perfect runny yolk) but I do not mind a little imperfection, just like Zeppelin, who is perfectly imperfect and yet he holds my heart.

a lot of customers came in since I came, I let them go ahead as they're only buying 4-5 pieces. she says she thinks I'm her lucky charm lol. like a huge, brown, bearded, tattooed buddha with nerdy glasses or something.

1.jpg

Shameless Plug

If you haven't read it yet, please do take the time to read the beautifully-written A Day In The Clouds which chronicles one of Zepp's misdaventures.

Sort:  

If you only I could also buy some from her. Very nice of you to post about her because we should give support those who truly needs it.

Thank you. I agree, she needs all the help she can get

sipag ni nanay, kind heart of yours @ zeppelin, mas better talaga mag purchase sa mas maliliit na nagtitinda kesa nga sa mga supermarket

oo nga po. Yung nasa supermarket, light yellow lang at manipis ang shell, mabilis mabasag. at malamang madami na gamot yung mga manok.

If I were close by kay nanay na kami bibili ng eggs

hehe hinahanap ko nga talaga sya tuwing Thursday, minsan wala sya, siguro maysakit or hindi enough yung harvest nya sa manukan nyan. Pag ibang araw sya napapwesto, pinapara nya ako pag nakita nya ako :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=zeppelin
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=farm-fresh-eggs-are-best


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

thank you, ever reliable map.

Photos are taken using a Canon Powershot G7x MK2

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @zeppelin to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received gratitude of 0.29 % from @appreciator thanks to: @zeppelin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36