Walk With Me! - Local Dragon Boat Festival

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_3819.jpg

Walking is great for your body. Adventuring is great for your soul. Blogging is great for your portfolio. Triple threat!

Originally, I thought I would be clever and create a tag that ended up being very similar to one my new friend had pioneered a while ago. It was inspired by the song below and I made my original post inviting you on my Tobermoray adventure. https://steemit.com/camping/@zekepickleman/come-with-zeke-and-walk-along-this-mile-the-grotto

Anyhow, I would rather join great citizens already marching so here is my latest walk. A few miles around town with the kids in tow so it is a quadruple threat! Press play and walk with Zeke!

41811703_10155478514376513_4424342186380754944_n.jpg

Since my better half is competing in a very popular event right in our home town, and the kids and I are being screen warriors, it was time to up and at them down to the waterfront. Here is a link to the event if you are into it and the image from the event promo material http://rotarystratford.com/dragon-boat-home/

IMG_4300.jpg

Question: How do you inspire kids to get up and out and walking? Answer: Refined sugar in the form of a Slurpee!
I am so proud we have had a can of Coke in the fridge for an entire year so the odd tasty sugar drink for them is not so bad.

IMG_4301.jpg

A rather boring shot I was going to skip but thought it might give a neat look at an old bit of bridge, some foliage, neighbourhood house, and the start of our walk.

IMG_4303.jpg

Some of the pics are a little blurry as I snapped them on the move as not to distract my fraggles with technology on their nature walk. This is the north shore which is almost entirely dominated by a park and lots of out door area. Probably would be condos in a big city.

IMG_4307.jpg

I liked the boldness of this little guy and the lines in the shot. Plenty of ducks and swans call this puddle of a lake home.

IMG_4308.jpg

This view struck me for a number of reasons. Each of these has a plaque dedicated so some long gone member of the community so there is history. The perspective is neat but I loved how all the benches were empty because people were walking!

IMG_4310.jpg

I enjoy the perspective as much as I do thresholds and this has a bit of both. A nice path onto one of the little islands which makes for a nice stroll. I reflected on the fact that I had never walked to this island or on this path in my 6 years here. Some of the neat things are right under our noses and we don't see them for the crappy world things we chose to seek out.

IMG_4312.jpg

The beauty of an unpaved path.

IMG_4313.jpg

We snuck up on the race from the north shore as the competitors are most likely digging and straining without knowing we are there.

Here are a couple more shots of the boats......Apparently the goal is to dig down with the paddle and raise the boat out of the water as a team for the most speed.

IMG_4315.jpg

IMG_4316.jpg

IMG_4321.jpg

The programming of the matrix seemed to glitch as I was walking and I took a picture of it to prove I was not hallucinating ;)

IMG_4324.jpg

My home town is known for the swans in the water. Someone saw fit to leverage a dead tree to create some art in the form of this guy who was glowering at me rather strongly.

IMG_4325.jpg

A smaller house was torn down to make way for this new house which looks like it will be fantastic. I remarked to the kids that we will live there when this crypto thing takes off.......and promptly was asked a thousand questions around details of when and how.

IMG_4331.jpg

I am not really sure what this is but someone went to the trouble of hauling it down for display. I thought I would post it up for opinions on what it is? I think there is a bubble maker on board?

A few more pictures with some nice outdoors and neat boats....

IMG_4335.jpg

IMG_4337.jpg

IMG_4339.jpg

IMG_4343.jpg

IMG_4344.jpg

IMG_4345.jpg

One of my little ones was stopped in her tracks when she beheld this tree. One of the points of the walk was to enjoy the outdoors so it made sense to snap a pic. Also shows that the weather is cooling off and this will most likely be bare within a month. Winter walks are not far away.

41889046_10102568469454629_8377501553874960384_n.jpg

Here is a shot of the winners. My wife and her team went undefeated in her first event aboard the boat and came home with gold!

zekepickleman.jpg

Are your legs tired? Thanks for coming along!

Sort:  

Congrats on your wife's victory! Looks like you had an awesome time with your Fraggles! xo Thanks for sharing.

Yah they asked me why I was taking so many pictures and if it was for my blog. I will make #walkwithme bloggers out of them eventually.

That's fantastic! :) My 3 sons are on the blockchain, but they don't post much...yet.

Yah I suppose that it doesn't make too much sense to have a long conversation in a semi-unrelated post but I am struggling with that. I want to have them learn to keep themselves away from online predators and not become too hooked to social media. On the other hand, I would like them to embrace the technology/opportunity and use it as the tool it is meant to be.

As with all things worth doing, I am sneaking up on this one and I think STEEMit is the place to start for them. Stay tuned!

@zekepickleman, nice pics. It was very interesting to me to read your post.
I am just curious... where do you live?
Happy Steeming!

Posted using Partiko Android

Small town in Ontario called Stratford. Nice little place away from the pollution and traffic and insane real estate prices but close enough I can get there for business whenever I want.

Definitely a neat place with so many restaurants and events like this. They keep it really nice for the million tourists a year that visit so I am just a happy townie now!

Ah, ok. So, this is a place in Canada. I got it. Thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yah! Not too far from Buffalo or Detroit.

Wow u had some work with this article! So the matrix is confirmed now haha :D Btw who are these fulltimebot accounts? u r gonna be rich soon with them visiting u all the time :D

In my journey to seek out and support all the innovators and community advocates here, I stumbled upon @fulltimegeek months ago. He does so many good things here for everyone and his army of bots automatically curate the good content.

I am just humbled to have appeared on his radar. Slowly stacking up my SP so that I can do that for folks too.

Oh wow...good for you :) Well u write cool posts for sure so well deserved :)... I just have a hard time keeping up with all the posts from all the different people :D

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

This post has received a 7.92 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49