You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pensiveness, musing and melancholy

in #blog6 years ago

I will be perfectly honest with you: if it is something that in my mind is absolutely "not correct", then I would not do it. If it is something where it feels "not correct", but there is a figure of authority that I trust telling me to do it, I would do it, but only after speaking about it. I would want to understand why they think it is correct, and only if I trust the answer, will I do it. If I discover going forward that for me it is "not correct", then I would stop.

Since reading Milgram's Experiment, I have become much more aware of just how much we do even though we know it is not correct. For example, I am house sitting right now, and the family does not recycle the way I do. The first day, I put everything in the bin like they do. But by the second day, I was aware that for me that is not correct, so I created my own containers and will carry it by myself outside of the house because recycling is important.

I think most of us do many more things than we think are "not correct" because general society does it that way or a person of authority says to do it.

Sort:  

It's a joke, but you could pour out all their garbage and segregate it in your way :D
I wonder what they would think about it...

Also, you could look at both, society and person of authority, as if it they were leaders, so the previous steps would apply.
Of course more questions arise from that, for example to what degree they imposing instead of leading, what leading means etc.

I hope you get the gist of what I'm trying to say :)

I completely get it! Trust me, I reflect on all of those. These are not easy problems, since on one side, society requires us to do what others tell us now and then in order to maintain public order. A the same time, there is a moment when you realize that something is not right and have to take action. How do you know you are doing the right thing vs just be rebellious because you don't want to do what you are being told? Not so easier to discern.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64041.25
ETH 2762.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66