Whitespace

in #blog6 years ago

paper-2221812_1920-1024x731.jpg

That blank screen, just sitting there looking at me.

How are you old friend? Did you miss me? It's been a while.

How long HAS it been anyway? Years? We used to be good friends, you and I.

Shit, you were with me at some crazy times. Remember when I got arrested that one time in Santa Clarita? Ally Jo! Remember Ally Jo?

Some wild shit back then.

So how have you been, anyway? Same old same old huh. Yeah, I know. Me too.

I mean not really, I've been all over the place. Up to some crazy shit as usual. Sorry I haven't kept in touch. Just busy I guess.

Actually that's not true. I mean I have been busy, but that's not the reason I haven't been returning your calls. I feel like such an asshole about it too. After all you've done for me, you deserve better than this.

I know you want an explanation. You deserve one at least, even if you don't want it. And I need to get it off my chest.

Fuck. Can you tell I'm stalling? The more things change, huh?

Alright I'll just come out and say it: I didn't think I was good enough for you.

You're just so damn perfect, you know? Literally never make a mistake ever, and here I am just a smelly meatbag trapped in this fleshy world.

It's not you, it's me. Sounds cliche, I know, but that's the truth. We had so many good times together and they just kept getting better and better. I don't know how I managed to fool you for so long into thinking I was on your level, but somehow I made it work.

But that pressure of always having to outdo myself just to keep up with you got to be too much until one day I just couldn't take it anymore. I didn't make an announcement, but I knew that it was time for a break. The times we had were amazing, but I had to give more and more of myself to make them happen. And you just took it so effortlessly.

How can anyone keep pace with perfection?

But you know, now that I think about it, that's the nature of "keeping pace," isn't it? You're not supposed to catch the rabbit - it's supposed to stay far enough ahead of you that you beat the other dogs to the finish line. I can't believe I never thought about that before until literally just now.

I got so caught up in performing for you, putting on an increasingly polished show full of nuance and Easter Eggs, that I forgot why I started spending time with you in the first place: because I enjoyed it. Because we had fun together. Because the times I spent with you were some of the best I ever had for no other reason than how much you taught me about myself. Just by being you.

It wasn't even anything specific that you said, but just by you being there I was able to pull myself higher and higher until I was standing on the last generation's shoulders. But the prouder I became, the more I evolved, the more nervous I got that one mistake would scatter the cocaine like an ill-timed sneeze.

The fear of loss was motivating at first. It was a challenge to see how long I could hang onto the ledge without falling. Then I learned to do tricks. I knew you'd never let me fall, no matter how flamboyant I got. It didn't matter what I tried - I was invincible with you around.

I guess it's stupid that I stayed away for so long. I can see that now. I know I said I'm sorry but I really can't say it enough. I owe you better than that.

I promise I'll make it up to you.

I made this post nice and short for you head-injury victims and butter chicken lovers.


Better or worse? Let me know in a comment.


Image result for steempress

This article was brought to you by SteemPress – a WordPress plugin that automatically posts articles from your WordPress site to your Steemit account. Read the official documentation or visit the @steempress-io account for more details.


OTHER ANNOUNCEMENTS:

  1. @Tibra’s and my Discord group for Steemit developers is growing fast. We’re almost at 20 devs and are looking to start our main project soon. If you want to be involved, contact him or me and we’ll give you an invite link.
  2. I have a new website up where I will be aggregating all of my content and posting it there first. I love building Steemit’s SEO and everything, but it’s time to cash in on my productivity. Peep it here at https://www.yallapapi.com or click and of the links in my signature below to read some of my other articles.
  3. I also touched up my agency website, which for now is just a general social media/content marketing site. If you’re a service provider looking to collaborate or are interested in sending me clients in exchange for a finder’s fee, let me know. It’s a work in progress: https://omnifarious.co
  4. The @omniloquent account is looking for a new editor! Responsibilities include: recruiting writers, updating the WordPress site (http://profitribes.com), and editing submissions. If you’re interested, send an email to [email protected].

Be one of the cool kids: Right here baby.

Join the Discord channel: https://discord.gg/56Pnrwc

Can’t get enough of me? Follow me on Instagram!

Did you like this post for some reason?

Then you’ll also love this trash:

Follow, resteem and smash dat mf like upvote button…

Image result for who tf up smash dat like
Sort:  

Thank you so much for another superb article, even if it was rather short (and thereby much harder to get lost in, as there is truly nothing like getting lost in a good piece of writing). And thank you, because I have enjoyed your articles immensely since joining steemit, as they are rather refreshing (a bit like a slap in the face) and very ... how to phrase this ... honest, perhaps, or to put it a bit more poetically, written from the soul.

Knowing you, It won't be whitespace for long!

Butter Chicken! Everybody loves butter chicken...
I really took the time to read until butter chicken - then I became hungry...
Seriously, I adore white space - it gives space for art to enfold. Without white space we would not be, where we are today. Sometimes I read only the white space in posts -it's much more meaningful.
In your case, I also enjoyed the black parts - they are masterfully crafted.

Where did you go my friend?
/FF

a blank piece of paper can be challenging.
What to do with the first lines?
After you drew the first line, its not blank anymore....

I got the feeling when I wrote my final tests....

I really enjoy the tongue in cheek but also motivational, kick in the ass style of your writing :) Always entertaining if nothing else, even when the muse is the blank screen ;) Keep up the writing/work/projects.

Yeah short indeed but nice.

It's an exact perfect picture of my cabin in the Winter....😁

Good going bru, Keep it like this.

bro i have upvoted you , i am not asking for upvote now , however i am working on my reputatoin, once i improve my reputation to 40 i will start writing post , for now i need ur facebook ID so that in future when i write BLOG i will ask for upvote kindly help and support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52