2017 Reflections, Lessons Learned - Expansion

in #blog7 years ago

reflections boat.jpg

2017 has been quite the year of"expansion" for myself. There's been some challenging lessons along the way. A real biggie inside the cryptospace is to not place coins/tokens in opposition to each other. There had been a real tendency for me to pit things against one another. An "either or" type mentality. I've realized that is a very limiting way to play. There's often wiggle room to be more accommodating in structuring positions and play's

There's really something quite good about holding onto and keeping that which is good. Reminds me of a popular saying:

Investigate all things and keep what is good

what this means in regards to cryptocurrency is to HODL long term the things you see have great potential. I learned and re confirmed this lesson myself the hard way by having on more than one occasion "tried" to time the market with an all in and all out move within a token/coin. More often than not, this "all of nothing" strategy has bit me in the ass.

I realize that even holding onto 1/10th of a position is a good move when the thing I am holding is something that I see has great potential and a strong long term viability.

Trying to time the market is the most risky way to participate in the markets. There's some basic psychology to buy low and sell high. And yes there is some merit to this approach.

For myself I realized that there is many things I am interested in investing for the long term. I realized that my approach is a long term conservative approach of slow accumulation. Granted I am open to and have participated in 'lump sum dumps'.

I realized that it doesn't do me much service to be all over the day to day market activity if my positions are being structured for the long term.

I realize I gave much more of my free time to cryptocurrency in 2017 than I had previously considered possible.

Career opportunities have opened up in regards to cryptocurrency. More on an independent contractor type basis than as a new 'corporate gig'. Will explore what is possible into 2018.

I realized that in many instances I could share more with peers in my environment. That I do like making the effort to help out my fellow mates. I am quite happy that I was able to support several mates getting into crypto and changing their lives for the better.

Identifying fomo or fud and letting go. I realized a rather significant point of slowing down for me is to be clear on the specifics of the emotions and or feelings I am experiencing. When I am clear on my 'feeling' I am sound in my decision making. When I "rush" is when I am not 100% in my 'feeling'...like I haven't defined the experience for myself with words. For 2018 - I am taking my 'internal accounting' very seriously as I give myself credit to make sure I am clear on the definition of the experiences that emerge from within the depths of my Being here.

I realized that part of my being consistent with a number of points this year has been a result of 'keeping things simple'...and ordinary...almost boring. That the accumulation of these seemingly trivial repetitions as my habits and patterns, really does make a tremendous difference over time.

Cheers to a wonderful 2018

  • I bring the the word "Expansion" through 2017 and into 2018 to continue keeping on with my best "self-expansion"
Sort:  

2017 was a great warm up now its time to go beyond 2018 here we come ;)

100%

Now it's time to go beyond 2018

Here we Come :)

Nice insights, can you elaborate a bit more on the coins you believe have long term value? I'm still new to cryptos and are looking for good altcoin investsments.

Litecoin is my top pick for 2018.

Other coins to look at:

Bitshares
EOS
STEEM
OmiseGo
NEO
Bitcoin/Bitcoin Cash
Dash
PIVX
Digibyte
Komodo
Aragon

Welcome to the Cryptosphere

good post , every one has there own way , quality coins long term Ithink is best way ,,

100% Agreed @jkenny 100%

  • Cheers :)

great year this has been for you :)

lets hope and wish everyone have a great 2018

time to expand the horizons in the another year :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23