Solutions for snails and cats in your vegetable garden

in #blog5 years ago

Hi all,

Sunday, what a lovely sunny sunday! We had a cold week last week but now after the Saints of ice have all had their birthday through the middle of May, we have warmth!!!!
A few weeks ago I had gathered all the stray strawberry plants that had sprouted here and there from lingering seeds of last years strawberry plants and was glad to see I was able to fill four trays with them.
They have started blooming and even little green strawberries have started forming already!

IMG_4580.JPG

Time to take them off the ground because last year I hardly had any since the snails ate most of them. Sometimes if I was lucky I'd get one a snail had taken a bite out of and left me some.

After some thinking I decided to hang them at a sunny spot off the wall of a small metal shed at the back of my veg garden so as not to drill holes in the wooden chalet I live in.

IMG_9440.JPG

Now if I wanted, I could hang a curtain from a string made out of a net to protect the berries from birds I suppose...
I hope that won't be necessary. I don't mind sharing a little, but I want a good portion for myself this year.

IMG_4841.JPG

To protect my vegetable garden against cats I have put blocks of leftover wood from a furniture factory in the empty spaces, and in the patches where I've already planted some things I have stuck a bamboo tapas pick with the name of the vegetable I have planted on it, and around I have carefully stuck some wooden scewers, points upwards. The string that divides the vegetable garden into little squares also helps. There's no where a spot to sit and pooh comfortably for cats now. And It works! (I've also used this method last year.)

IMG_4841b.jpg

I hope this was helpful to you in some way.
How is your vegetable garden doing?
I'd love to hear about it in the comments.

love Clara @wombloom

logo4.png

I am happy to write for :

image.png

Sort:  

ahaaaa, you did it! such a good genius idea to hang them up.. happy to see the food garden still going! <3

Good huh. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54336.36
ETH 2283.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34