A GOOD BOOK IS LIKE A LIFETIME ROMANCE…

in #blog7 years ago

reading.jpg

Are you often asked to recommend a good book? Isn’t it something more of a personal experience or a matter of choice? I myself got introduced with some books which had life-changing lessons to be learned but that was something of my own choice, though backed by recommendation.

An intense engagement with a book is no less than a passionate affair, it engages mind and emotions and distracts one from all else for the time it lasts. And when finished, it leaves you with loads of thoughts, sense of achievement and a big smile. Of course not every book can leave that impact but many do, where the author has been as intensely involved in writing as you in reading. When in the middle of my book, I tend to carry it everywhere with me, it’s like I can’t let it go even if I don’t have time to read it. Its presence only is so comforting accompanied with a promise of a good reading time ahead.

Inexplicably, if someone opens the book to where I am reading, it’s annoying as if someone has eavesdropped in a private conversation. This can be explained as I have a habit of marking passages and writing my thoughts down as I read along. When I read a good thought or a beautifully constructed sentence, I like to keep down my book and savor the thought for quite some time, as it is done with your favorite food, to deliciously slide down the throat, and then enjoy a while with the aftertaste.

After a good book ends, I possible cannot start with a new one for some time. At times, the Impression left behind lingers so intensely that I need to treat it with few quick reads, the kind that is more interesting and mindless rather than engaging and mindful.

It pains me to find out that reading habit is dying out. I would urge the more younger lot (Younger than me) to inculcate the habit of reading for all the conventional reasons- Reading makes you smarter, you gain more knowledge and perspective, improves vocabulary and writing skills, helps analytical thinking, is therapeutic, improves memory and reduces stress. But I also want them to read for the very reasons one enjoys it. . I want them to feel the indulgence, the pleasure and the expansion of mind that a good read brings.

Also, stop borrowing guys, Build your own collection and enjoy their presence. It’s the best feeling that cannot be described. Truly said, they will remain your best friends forever and are an instant mood lifter. An old book brings back so much memory that takes you to a ride in the past, which I am sure you would relish re-living.

Thanks for Reading!!!

Sort:  

bought a smile to my face, being an avid reader myself...ur a welcome addition to steemit...keep posting! :)

Thanks for the encouragement :)

Congratulations @weavingwords! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post, like the advise of stop borrowing and build your own collection. :)
Would follow you and wait for your next post. Tq

Congratulations @weavingwords! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66