You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk—Have You Planned For Your Cryptocurrency Legal Heir?

in #blog7 years ago

This is an extremely valid point.

I'm 30 years old and I'm not likely to fall off of the face of the earth anytime soon. I rarely consider the idea of inheritance. If I were to die today, my crypto holdings would likely be lost forever - I don't think my girlfriend would recognize the value, nor would she know how to navigate the various platforms to cash out. Crypto is a difficult asset to pass on primarily because of the required technical knowledge of how it works. Even passing along my private and public keys might not guarantee that my heir would be able to extract any value from the asset.

Thankfully crypto is not my primary asset - And I don't believe it should be anyone's primary asset - But it's definitely still a significant chunk of my holdings.

I think there's a big market for tools that can be used by the common public to handle crypto. Services like CoinBase, and sites that easily allow crypto to be converted back to fiat are likely to become increasingly popular as the less technically inclined move into the crypto world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77