How Steemit got my car back on the road ~ So grateful for all your help - Thank you

in #blog6 years ago

Greetings,

I decided to make another a little bit different post today, it's been an amazing journey since I joined this awesome community 7 months ago. As I mentioned before, Steemit has definitely been a life changer for me, from learning new stuff about photography, writing, motaging videos... , to meeting amazing new people and motivating me every day to do something.

About two and half months ago I remembered registration is coming for my car in February that I couldn't afford myself at all. Since my life totally change last year and got used to live by myself, after I pay the bills from last month there isn't any money left for something like new shoes or a T-shirt.

20180125_194002.jpg

Got an idea in November that just maybe I would be able to pay the registration and insurance with the help of Steemit. Because I tried to spend as little Steem power as possible I mainly used SBD and did learn a lot with trading cryptocurrencies. Was able to pay whole registration for my car with the insurance.

I'm so grateful for all your help, I really couldn't do it without you all and this amazing community. Thank you everyone for the support and help, from the bottom of my heart! <3

20180126_104638.jpg

I also decided to share few photos of my car few days before the registration, I had to fix few stuff.

First problem was a locked brake caliper. Had to remove the wheel, unbolt brake caliper and remove brake disc.

20180126_104645.jpg

20180126_123234.jpg

Then I unbolted and removed the brake line from brake caliper so I was able to get it on a table, open it up and cleaned it.

Here is where it got really messy and I didn't take any more photos, but as you can see the rubber seals are worn out and I will have to do this process on both sides one more time, when I will be able to afford the seals to renew the rear brake calipers.

It's a 20 years old Volkswagen Passat with almost 400.000 kilometers. But otherwise runs great.

IMG-1fed822391c3899f5bb76fe4c964560a-V.jpg

The second thing that I had to replace was one of control arms that was pretty much destroyed control arm, that should be a quick change, only required to unbolt two bolts, but the main bolt you can see on the photo was a real pain to get out because it was all rusted. Took me about 3 hours to get it out with a lot of hammering, heating and more hammering.

20180201_161810.jpg

Was able to fix everything up at the end. The difference is huge.

20171206_170133.jpg

I would like to Thank you everyone for all the help and support and of course Steemit. This wouldn't be possible without you all. As a student and having a 30km drive to school a car really makes my life a loot easier.

To be honest, I can't imagine my life without a car. Not only it makes life a lot easier, but I can also admit I'm addicted to driving, going on road trips and its the feeling of letting everyone go and just go for a drive, with many, many good old memories.

Thank you everyone again so soo much! Truly feel blessed to be a part of this awesome community and I am really grateful for everything, have a wonderful day.

Namaste

Steem on!

Sort:  

woah mate... good job DIYing your way thorugh this, mad props... touching the breaks kinda scares me!

I want to see you do the half million in that ride ;)

I'm actually a mechanic, then I went into mechatronics waters. :) Thank you very much bud, will definitely share more from my passat, still need to make a review of it and will share everything I'll work on it.

That will be an amazing milestone! ;) Looots of adventures till then.

I know what it's like to have a single bolt completely test who are are as a human being. Grats on finding success on Steemit, you make good posts!

I tryed everything, before I went into full hammer mode. Had to cut it at the end, but no problem got a new bolt. Thank you so much buddy!

Here' s my contribution. Keep grinding, my friend.

Thank you very very much, your also a big part of it, you know that. You just gave me a real motivation and I will share more when I'll be fixing up my car next time. :) Najlepša hvala

Good job, always great to see people taking on fixing their own rides......🚙

Thanks buddy :) You gotta do what you gotta do, more definitely coming when I'll order new rubber seals and change my brake fluid.

It doesn't matter what car u drive as we all share the same passion for cars

Yes indeed, it also has his own character that you won't get with the new cars. Thank you.

Yeah, old cars have more character. New cars just too much electronics that makes the driver numb

Great, Now I know where to go if My car will broke

Hehe probably a long way to go

Keep it up! Check my steemit for cars posts!


Glad your back on the road

Yeah :) Hehe nice one !

Good to hear someone's success! Keep up with DIY!

For more of my automotive thoughts, see my blog.

Great to hear that your car is fixed. We all have different types of cars we love and if making a couple bucks on steemit like you did to fix it the shape its in then i'm sure you've made a lot of people strive on steemit to make money for their own passion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51