Focusing on what’s important

in #blog8 years ago

I think of how hard I work most days. week in and week out, year after year, all in the hopes of one day paying off my debs and living free. My dream is to own some land in a remote location and be able to make a living at it. Its not the work that I have a problem with, we all need to work, its part of the human experience and an integral part to one's own happiness and sense of accomplishment. It is the sense that we are loosing our ability to be happy and live free.
In the post modern 21 century its not surprising to find an increasing interest in being able to unplug from the modern word and live by simpler means. We see the realities of living in an overly toxic environment as evidenced by the increasing alarming rates of disorders such as food allergies, autism, and asthma in our children as well as cancer and alzhimer's in our elderly. Most of us now feel that the world is changing and leaning towards some dystopic future. Tyrannical government, violence, and fears of a financial Armageddon seem immanent. Still there are others who will not see any of it this way. I suspect that they don't want to see it and I for one don't blame them. I have my own fantastic dreams for the future, what it could be if only things would not worsen.
I consider myself a trans-humanist, fully ready to embrace everything technology has to offer us all. The thing is that I’m not entirely stupid, I see which way the wind is blowing and I am afraid that no amount of preparation will ever prepare us for what is to come.
I am reminded of the need to be practical in my life and focus on the things that are important like happiness, freedom, and survival. I don't want to have to go to work each day to a job that I hate in order to work towards things that don't bring me happiness. I am tired of wasting my time learning about things that do not contribute to my well being. Wanting more things than I need in life is what is taking away my freedom. I know that all of this is a balancing act. What is important is the ability to learn the skills that will enable us to change our habits in order to conform our lives to our true will, (that which is best for you). The challenge is actually figuring out what exactly what that is.
I am beginning to realize just what that means for me and I am trying to learn the skills necessary to manifest my true will. I realize that holistic lifestyle choices like meditation, proper diet, and exercise, as well as living in a toxic free environment will help me to be able to work on the ability to slowly transform my life for the better and allow me the clarity of thought that is required to discover my true will. We all face a kind of pollution in the form of information overload that on the one hand can be a benefit to us by giving us the opportunity to learn new things,and on the other hand can pull us in undesirable directions. My advice is to find that which serves your true will and discard the rest.

Sort:  

I love tech and the post modern world but I still eat healthy. Am into the holistic vibe. I hate chemical food. But I love machines. Love computers. Love the city. One thing I can't give up is tech. I would love to grow my food.

I absolutely agree with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40