If You Enjoy What You Do, You Will Be Successful!

in #blog7 years ago


Back in 2002, I was working for an online brokerage firm, co-managing a team of customer support representatives. It was terrible work. The trading platform was constantly being tweaked and causing issues for our customers, which led to a phone call to customer support.

I had a twitching eye, my shoulder muscles were so tense I would get knots on top of knots. Suffice to say, after two years in the role, I had had enough.

It was time to change careers and do it fast, otherwise I was looking for a heart attack before the age of 30. I racked my brain as to what I would want to do next. Ever since I was a kid, I wanted to be like my neighbor's father, a stockbroker. It was time for a change.

I decided I was going to be a golf pro!

Sure, I really liked playing golf and considered myself to be a good player. I was a natural athlete, I figured if I put my mind to it, practiced a bunch, I would be the next great club professional.



Back in 2002, the search engines and job boards weren't as refined as they are today. So I gorilla marketed my way into a slot at a private, 36 hole country club. Using the map, I drew a circle around my house and started sending resumes to every head professional and director of golf inside that circle.

I couldn't believe it worked out so well. After one interview I got the job. My boss later told me he was looking for someone who wasn't from the industry. Someone who learned to work in another field. I was given a start date, gave my two weeks to the brokerage firm I was working for and my new start in life was beginning.

It was everything I had hoped it would be. Spending the day operating a private golf club was the way for me. No longer answering to angry phone calls from the general public, rather interacting and playing golf with the membership, teaching lessons and running clinics. The members were overly generous, so the money was pretty good.

It was relatively long hours, but I didn't mind, I was single. Finish the day by going for drinks with members and my fellow pros and get up and do it all again the next day. I took the month of February off and picked an island to go visit. Times were really good.

The next ten years just blended together. I never thought about calling out sick. I had too much to do and the best par, I didn't get sick. That's what happens when you're content.

There was plenty of change over in the golf department thru those years, apparently golf pro's can't keep their dicks in their pants, everyone that was replaced lost their job over one type of infidelity or another. With change brings opportunity. I consolidated all the plum assignments in the department and left the rest to the newest assistant pro.

It wasn't till 2012-2013 that the effects of the 2008 crash really became apparent and people where resigning their club memberships in droves. It was then I knew I had to move along. I went to work for a former general manager of the club who had opened his own golf course management firm. He installed me as the GM at his top property and that lasted up until this Spring.



The golf industry is struggling mightily. The under 40 set doesn't play the way their dads did. Fathers are responsible for their children on the weekend too. Try justifying to your wife the concept of spending the whole weekend at a golf club, gambling, drinking and ignoring the family you haven't seen much of the week. Good luck. Now the industry is almost entirely senior dependent. Pensioneers looking for the best deal in their areas.

I had a great run in the golf industry and had quite a success because I enjoyed what I was doing. Now I have to come up with the next challenge that I will enjoy to the fullest. At present, Steemit is fulfilling that niche in my life!


Bonnie's 35th Birthday (1).png

Image source: 1, 2, 3

*None of the images used were of the golf course I was working for.

Sort:  

It's really great that you found a job you love. The golf industry sounds like a more unique and interesting field. I think you could write an interesting book about changes in the field of golf field over time. I'm a bit of a nerd who loves studying social changes. That last part about dad's taking care of the kids on weekends impacting golf business is interesting. When I picture golfers I picture older upper class males who have less social responsibilities.

During my tenure, I was around the same group of men for nearly 15 years, they left my first club and downsized to the second one I worked at. They all aged from 45 to 60 in that period and I didn't see the replacement crowd coming in behind them. It's dying off slowly but surely. Maybe I will write a book.

Trust me the senior set now has babysitting duties and ball games on the weekends. They are not free to do what they used to either.

Excellent a kindred spirit, I have just been justifying my reply to @wakeupsheeps on my nerdiness lol

Ah the consequences and outcomes of changing demographics particularly aging populations and parenting responsibilities... OK I'm a nerd I confess, but I just find it fascinating how all the rapid changes in our lifetimes are impacting every area of our lives. As you rightly point out particularly health. I did the opposite thing I loved my job so much I physically burned out... which has ultimately led me to Steemit...

Lol. Nice to meet a fellow nerd kindred spirit.The golf industry (or other unique jobs) could be so interesting to study in terms of aging populations. Like @wakeupsheep said young men don't play like their fathers and take greater roles at home. That's really interesting to see traditional roles changing forcing the golf industry to change.

I can see that happening @aussiesteem. You can definitely give too much of yourself to something you love.

As to the rapid changes, this world is changing in a hurry, it's not the 1950's anymore. Life is fast and expensive.

I think of my self as the quintessential Pieces...two fish swimming in 2 different directions, going around in circles, possibly disappearing up their own butts! So it's really easy for me to get so invested in what I'm doing when I'm enjoying it (or if its competitive) that until a limb drops off I don't notice I'm over doing it... (Death nature's way of telling you to slow down!) lol Life certainly if fast and expensive damn it...

indeed my friend! great post

Thanks @yahyaoa. Appreciate that.

nice, I liked the old couple :)

Thanks for reading @bymma.

hehe obviously :) I will atleast promise to check you out later wakeups. You are on my home screen now.

And what is will challenge?

Good question.

Congratulations @wakeupsheeps! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46