You Can Never Turn Back Time

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

THANKS FOR THE NICE GIFT OF TIME


I got this cool clock from a couple that was trying to sell it and when they heard me talk about my clock that had gotten stolen they decided they wanted to gift it to me. It's a 1933 Chelsea ships clock and was not functional when I got it and after over a year I finally finished the repairs. I didn't take photos of the overhaul because I did this right before I started blogging and didn't really think about it

chelsea before.jpg

I fully disassembled it and sent the case for plating and began the repairs. I am not the greatest at fixing these types of clocks as it's a bit different from the normal antique clocks I learned on. There was quite a bit of rust on the inside of the clock and took some major cleaning and some replacement gears that were not worth repairing to get it ready to assemble. This is an 8+ day movement with a jeweled platform escapement which was in nice condition after cleaning. Everything else was in nice shape and once I got the case back from plating and some proper oiling and adjustments it worked great. Here is the finished product.

IMG_0613.JPG

I just need to memorize the chiming patterns and I will be set, never have to watch the clock again!

Bell Strike Test

8 bells: 12:00, 4:00, 8:00
1 bell: 12:30, 4:30, 8:30
2 bells: 1:00, 5:00, 9:00
3 bells: 1:30, 5:30, 9:30
4 bells: 2:00, 6:00, 10:00
5 bells: 2:30, 6:30, 10:30
6 bells: 3:00, 7:00, 11:00
7 bells: 3:30, 7:30, 11:30

red line VL (1).png

dtubearmy1.jpg

DTubeArmy Discord

red line.png

Sort:  

hey brother, didn't know you knew about clocks. That is art, I believe.

Take care

Posted using Partiko Android

I worked in a watch and clock store for 10 years .... I am not highly skilled my can get the job done ... hope you’re well :)

That is one beautiful clock brotato chip.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you ... turned out really nice ... really helping me keep track of my work day too... I break the day up into half hour increments and set small goals that get finished with a really cool sound

Those old clocks are really cool!

yea, i love this clock

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15