Malibu Fires -- Tragic News For My Family & Community

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

I COME HOME FROM POLAND TO LEARN BAD NEWS



While in Poland I was told there were fires in Malibu and I didn't think much of it, yes I was aware that my Brother's family was evacuated but I thought this would be the same as when his area flooded or something like that, It would be fixed and they would move on. My Mom told me that my Brother's house burned to the ground, his family is safe and that's the important part but of course I come to find that his whole world has burned down around him. His community is destroyed and lives are changed forever.


brother.PNG


This is a photo of my Brother in the house that "used to be" The look on his face foreshadows the tragedy to come. This was the first time I ever visited his home after they moved in and he was so proud of his achievement and worked so hard to get there. He built a thriving business and started a family and was a proud member of the community, a community in mourning and questioning "what will be".


brother1.PNG


He proudly showed us the route to the private beach he called home and this beauty is now destroyed. It was a paradise in heaven and now is gone. How will his family and this community move on and build new lives?


brother2.PNG


This is the hill looking down from his house and there is nothing left. The memories of the past burnt to the ground and the future is uncertain. My prayers to the lives that were lost and to my Brother's family, may they rise from the ashes.


red line VL (1).png

vostokarmy community strong3.gif

VostokArmy Discord

red line.png

Sort:  

We live in Los Angeles and have opened our home to people displaced by the fire. If your brother and family need a safe place to stay, let me know.

Posted using Partiko Android

you're a good man, I appreciate that....my brother along with many people in Malibu are fortunate enough to not have a problem with money and a place to stay, that's the only really good side of this. If this happened in the middle of LA it would be very difficult for people to find a place to stay. They are staying in a hotel in Santa Monica, they have a second home that will hopefully not get burned down too so they can return to the ghost town called Malibu...I appreciate you and will mention this to my brother in case there are people in need

Glad he has the resources he needs. Wish everyone had that. Good luck to him, and yes, if he knows someone who needs a place, he can let them know about us.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m so sorry to hear that, @vladivostok! Sad times. I hope they get the fires under control soon. And I hope your brother and his family can begin recovering their lives.

I hope so too Jayna...the dreemteem unites :)

So sorry to hear man. My thoughts are with your family now. Stay strong amigo.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you my friend, you are a good man

We are in treacherous times and am very sorry to see the loss of hard work and nature and that a lot of destructive forces are out and about recently
My well wishes to you and yours are extended

thank you for the good vibes, much appreciated :) I see what you were talking about yesterday adding my links.....lol
I am so out of it still...appreciate that very much

I feel for your brother and his family. I myself, experienced a total loss fire of my residence, and lost everything I owned in a matter of hours. I ran back into the fire to save a briefcase full of things like my car titles, and other urgent papers, grabbing it and my laptop (which is my life, my job, my connection to all things and people in my solo isolated life) and barely making it out as the burning ceiling collapsed on me, leaving me with burn scars on my back when my synthetic threaded shirt caught on fire on my body as I fell out and rolled into the mud to put it out. The scars are mostly diminished now, like the memories of all those things I lost, which seemed so important at the time, but now, I realize, I've replaced what I needed and can mostly remember what I lost, the point being the "things" i lost, in many cases, are now even forgotten, or at least not missed as much as I thought I would miss them after moving them around from house to house for 15 years since my divorce early in the 2000s.

If the family is safe, everything else is replaceble or wasn't as important as I thought. It wasn't easy. I lived in a tent on my own land for months till I was able to use funds from a gofundme friends made and my own income to obtain a more permanent structure, a wooden shed, which I proceeded to live in like Bubbles from Trailer Park Boys for 4 more years till I finally moved off that mountain and back to the city a year ago.

The story of our lives never ends. This chapter was sure as hell costly and hard, but thank the gods you prefer, that it wasn't the end of the book.

All the best for a speedy return to some kind of whatever we even think "normalcy" is. I'm so glad none of you were hurt.

thank you brother, safe family is the main thing..sorry you had to experience it too, very traumatic for sure. bubbles :) life goes on and I am sure they will be fine. just hope it happens sooner and that they don't find any more people dead although there seems to be another 160 people missing which really suck, these families have some real problems to deal with...appreciate your regards and insight

It’s really terribly to see so many people losing everything they’ve built up in years in just a few hours. I’ve never been in a similar situation by myself, so I can only imagine how it must be. A strong hug from a brother may not be able to turn back time, but to make the presence even more valuable. Please send my best wishes to your family - all the best to them!!!

Its really is awful, we take so much for granted in life and in times like these a big strong hug from those you love is more important than anything that can and will be rebuilt, I will pass the hug along and appreciate the love.

It’s what stays... you can destroy a house but not the bond between two brothers :-)

unfortunately my brother does not enjoy this bond like I do, I don't understand it, but he still has not returned my calls. I am the black sheep of the family but the most considerate and caring, I will him well in spite of it and reached out a few times

I am sad to learn of this. I hope his abilities enable him to quickly and effectively not only recover from this disaster, but to improve their circumstances.

Thanks!

I appreciate your comment, I hope this community can recover fast. At least the money of rebuilding will not be as big of an issue as other communities might have, I am sure there will be government funding to support them as well.

Аватарка у Вас теперь классная!
Дом в Польше- это замечательная покупка!
Приглашайте в гости!!!
STEEM - $0.62
SBD - $0.91
И что Вы будете делать??
Я следую за Вами!!!

Привет! Я думаю ты не поняла. У него брата дом загорелся! Точно этот который в фотографиях. Не только дом, но и весь сектор, где он жил... И это не в Польше а в США...

Oh no that's terrible news. I am glad they are safe though... that's the most important thing xxx Love and hugs to all of you... be there for one another xxxx

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for the hugs, I could always use them :)

I always have hugs to give full stop so much love xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry and all the best :(

thank you so much, I hope they don't find more bodies ...42 is too many already :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97