Little Bender Dog's Road to Recovery Part 3

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

It was a really odd feeling the next few days with only Doc and myself in the apartment. It had been the 3 of us for last three and a half years and while it stressed me out, I would have to say Doc seemed to appreciate not having his surrogate little brother around for a little while.

I would go visit Bender in the hospital right after work and each day I would ask when I would get to take him home. I didn't want to rush him by any means, but not only were the hospital bills climbing every day he was in there, I wanted to have my little guy home so he could relax and so I could begin adjusting to what would be my new life caring for an invalid of a sort.

On the third day, I asked the doctor if there was any specific reason he should stay in the hospital - if there were some treatment they were giving him that I couldn't at home, or if there was any kind of potential emergency situation they were keeping an eye on. The doctor said that the only thing they were really doing that I might not be able to do was express his bladder since he wasn't peeing on his own, but that they could teach me how to do it if I was comfortable.

Manually relieving a dog was not something I could say I ever expected to be on my resume, but hey, each day is an opportunity to learn something new right?

The nurse brought Bender in along with a puppy pad and set both down on the examination table and the doctor showed me where to grab Bender to feel for the bladder (pro tip: it's right above his wiener just like you'd expect) Once I was pretty sure I was in the right place, I started squeezing. For several seconds, nothing. Then he started spraying like a Super Soaker all over the pad all the while giving me a look as if to say, 'I don't know why you're doing what you're doing, but thanks man, I needed that.'

Having proven my aptitude at pee-squeezing a little dog, the doctor let me know I could take Bender home the next day as long as nothing peculiar happened overnight.

I had ordered 2 dog crates for the little guy which were both waiting for me when I got home and I set the one he would be living in for the next 6 weeks or so in my bedroom. Doc decided that it looked a suitable residence for him and spent most of the night in there warming it up for his little buddy before we went to sleep.

I woke up the following morning to the doctor's office calling me. They said that all was well and whenever I wanted to pick the little guy up, he was ready. I anxiously stumbled my way through work counting the minutes until I could go grab my little buddy and take remove him from that frightening place.

I left work a little early and settled the rest of the hospital bill and carried Bender like a bomb made of egg shells back to my car along with 4 different kinds of medication. He was pretty spaced out from the drugs and his little legs were still pretty much completely limp, but his head perked up when I laid him down in the passenger seat. He let out a frustrated grunt when he couldn't stand up to see out the window but eventually conceded to the will of the meds and passed out in a little ball of black fur and sutures.

Once home, I placed him in his cage, which he did not seem to excited about, but again, those meds were pretty powerful and after a brief session of whimpering at his buddy Doc on the other side of the bars, he drifted off again. But, he was home where he belonged and I began to feel like everything might work out for the little man after all.

689f1ba0.jpg

https://steemit.com/blog/@vitamint/little-bender-dog-s-road-to-recovery-part-2

https://steemit.com/@vitamint

Sort:  

Congratulations @vitamint! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @vitamint! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69