You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shift Your Focus to the Positive - How I learned to stop worrying and (almost) write on a daily basis - Part 15

in #blog7 years ago

Welcome fellow filmmaker. Nice to meet you on here :)

You get my point. People love to feed their Ego and trashing others/ things is a way to do it. Even the biggest names - like Roger Ebert - did so. I got a book in my collection that he wrote, called: "Your Movie Sucks" with reviews of films he gave extremely low ratings. Pretty harsh, if you think about it. That kind of writing made him famous though.

Let's keep in touch :)

Sort:  

Agreed. The funny thing is that Roger Ebert is often wrong about movies--he often judges movies harshly that later become classics, and often praises movies that later are not considered good. Therefore I don't consider him such a good critic. Nevertheless, everyone seems to hold his opinion so highly! He is very often quoted in film's Wikipedia articles under the section "Critical Reception."

Very nice to meet you too. :) I think there are not so many filmmakers on Steemit. I've only been on here about 10 days, but I've enjoyed reading your posts so far. :)

I guess critics do also have their taste in films/ preferences, even though they might not always want to admit it. He is seen as one of the greatest - people even talk about him in present tense, four years after his death ;) - but Hollywood is considered the greatest too. That doesn't mean that the movies that roll out of that industry are necessarily the best.

I have written movie reviews as a voluntary job, a decade or so ago. Back then, I really felt like making movies but I wasn't making any. I was studying film though. It felt strange to write about what I wanted to make myself. Let alone to be critical.

Glad you enjoy(ed) reading my posts. If you scroll a couple of months back - something you might or might not have done - you will notice that I write about filmmaking too but I'm sure as creatives we have many overlaps.

Bye for now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62572.49
ETH 2444.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67