Pursuing the dream

in #blog6 years ago

613D923A-3588-4B50-8E15-34CCB1A52CE4.jpeg
Hey Steemit! What’s up? Few days ago my son and I visited my grandmother. And during our talks she mentioned one topic she always mentions with her relatives. The piano.

As long as I remember, my grandma wanted to play piano. Unfortunately when she was little, her family didn’t have an opportunity to buy piano or to send her to music school. Nevertheless, through her life the opportunity never came. But when she began working as receptionist at a music school, she realized what she could do with her dream.

Her children could make it happen. And my aunt played dombra, my mother played piano. After that, it was my cousins’ turn. They made it for only two years. And me. I studied at music school for 9 years, I took part in numerous concerts, visited camps for musicians and even was invited to the local TV studio. Though later, I understood that I liked learning languages more than playing piano and I finished music school. My grandma was upset, but she couldn’t do anything.

And now she has three grandchildren. And she wants them to play musical instruments. Piano would be perfect. She even still keeps the instrument — it was bought long ago for my mother.

Such not-so-subtle hints got me thinking: if our son has the desire to learn to play piano or any other instrument, we won’t mind and help him of course. But if he gets tired of it, should we push him into it as I was pushed in the end? Or should we let him try something new?
8E3025AD-2430-432E-91EC-5155EA1F4797.jpeg

Right now I don’t have these answers and only time will show what to do.

Thank you for reading,
Yours @veruccia

Sort:  

Everyone thinks that they sing better in the shower. I wanted to try to have the same effect in the rain. When…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81