Connected people....

in #blog5 years ago


Source

The title of my post would suggest more of a community statement, but the post actually is about something else.
While we are more and more online and connected to the outer world, you always have extremities. With that I mean people who will go a step further then perhaps you and me would go.

Yesterday I saw a episode of "Dark net" a serie on NetFlix. There was this guy Chris Dancy and he is seen as the most connected man in the world.

His whole life is dedicated to collecting data, data in the most bizar form, he collect's data about:

  • His heartrate with a heartrate sensor
  • Steps he walks with a stepcounter
  • Breathanalyzing trough a tube with a app on his phone
  • Takes a picture every few minutes with a clipp-on camera
  • Monitors his health with multiple smart watches and devices
  • Registers his traveling and visits to stores with location apps


Source

And he all publishes it online on his website, realtime, for the world to see.

http://data.chrisdancy.com/

a quote of his website to tell what he has learned over the years

[Begin quote]"Some of my earliest life hacks involved simple relationships between the environment and my behavior. I learned, for example:
How late I could have a drink without getting up to pee in the middle of the night.
How what I did on social media, and how I spent my time online, related to how much I did or didn’t exercise.
How the nutritional value of my food stacked up against the money I spent on that food and the time it took to acquire.
There were thousands of these life data hacks, and they took a deep hold on my day-to-day behavior.

By the end of 2012 I had enough data and routines in place to start shaving pounds off my body, slow my mind, and stop smoking. I understood that binge watching TV was changing the way I ate food, and that posting on social media after exercising produced more "likes".
My life became a continuous feedback loop of condition and response. When I would take work conference calls, if I spoke loudly, I would get an update from my Netatmo sensor. No part of my life wasn't invaded and destroyed by the hyper-vigilance of self-surveillance.
This was also the beginning of an important lesson for me on the power of data over other people and relationships, and how ultimately this created a sense of isolation and independence that I struggled with.
By the beginning of 2014 I had shed close to 100 pounds, was wiser with my spending, was meditating, and had stopped smoking. My career was moving very fast and I was evolving out of most of my relationships with friends, peers, and family.
In 2016, I find that I experience a sort of “data PTSD” about the period from 2011 - 2014. I can only recall those years by looking them up in my archives and trying to understand who I was and how I was reacting." [End quote]

My opinion


I must admit he has gathered a lot of data about his behaviour and had some benefits I am sure. (health, fame etc.) But I really can't see why you want to monitor everything so obsessive and then publish it online. Privacy is gone, but that is another discussion, privacy is relative I think. But the most important is that it totally controls your life while there are so many great things in life that are more important... But hey, that's my opinion ofcourse...

I was a bit flabbergasted about this guy, it is just a bit like a someone who is addicted to cosmetic surgery, it is never enough.....

What is your opinion?, please leave them in a comment.. looking forward to them

Have a great day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

This trend is disturbing. We're moving further and further away from what it is to be human. We're sitting at a major historical crossroad. Soon we either say goodbye to humanity as we know it, get microchipped and move into the planned transhuman world or resist and be outcasts. An interesting future awaits.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 138 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @verhp11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.245 which ranks you at #8158 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 8166).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #151.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Wow! That is pretty intense and almost seems like an addiction if you ask me. I agree, sometimes you can take things a little too far!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94