My First Structured Artist Statement (Original Blog)

in #blog8 years ago

Verbal D's First Artist Statement
February 21st, 2012

I am a musician and writer who doesn't write about flaunting money, disrespecting women, provocativeness, drug abuse, or materialism. I write about self growth, positivity, appreciation of life, community, equality, love, giving to others and my love for God and Jesus Christ.

I'm also a lyricist, short story writer, essayist, and poet. I utilize all these forms of expression to close the gap of misunderstandings between myself as a creator, philosopher and presenter and my receiving audience. I want to bring intimacy to my listeners and readers through my literature and lyrics, which describe my personal experience of my struggles and accomplishments in life so that the readers, themselves, can be more prepared for situations that they may encounter in their future through revealing how I handled what I confronted in my past. Writing, and the usage of strong, creative language are my tools to influence and change people’s perspective on life and the world in a positive way.

I want to show people how to effectively love themselves as they are, teach them that morale and character, and who you surround yourself with is the higher quality of one's life rather than the materialism and monetary status they define themselves by based off of Wall Street social standards. I aim to show that the importance of approach and attitude through resilience, adaptability and perspective is the crucial key to overcoming any obstacle in life.

I, myself, am an optimist and I find empowerment through influencing people, especially the youth, because they are at a tender age of learning how to live their lives and role modeling is important for me to embody that for them. I recognize how beneficial and impacting a role model is and with my music, that is a big platform to use for such a goal.

Through my works, I talk about how people can do better for themselves in terms of being active in their communities, how to grow personally to become role models in our society, and how important it is to utilize the freedom and power of one's individual voice to bring about change in their own lives. Once doing so and becoming more polished in those attributes, they can then learn how to use that skill to empower others around them, because we are all dependent on each other and our unique gifts that we contribute to each other.

I want my writing and music to inspire and grow, causing a chain reaction in people towards them discovering themselves and their altruistic purpose in life.

I am specifically a lyric writer born in the ghettoes of Oakland with a shaky, disruptive, and hurtful childhood. But the anger I held for my past experiences with certain individuals, I funneled it into positive energy through writing stories, songs, essays and poems as an outlet.

I use the form of lyric writing, because it reaches the youth and engages them more so than directly speaking to them in an authoritative or higher position as a teacher does to their pupil, or student. The creative metaphors, wordplay, philosophy and rhyme schemes grant me to open more doors for the youth's imagination to explore, and by doing so, their exploration of my literature instills positive ideas into their thoughts that they can apply once they understand and retain the lessons.

My hard work and discipline, paired with my passion and drive to change those who I come in contact with will help me in my mission to provide positive and humanitarian literature and become an encouraging and constructive writer. I'm a multifaceted musician and writer who proves that it's beneficial to be a contributor and teacher to community, history and culture that makes a difference to all generations who can receive its knowledge.

For every negative, there is a positive and for every weakness there is a strength. Let us become the stepping stones to bridge the gaps of our shortcomings for one another and continually support each other with a foundation of love, care and guidance.


I wrote this in university 5 years ago, hope you enjoyed it and took something profound from this.



Thank you for reading this post in its entirety.


I'll still be continuing accepting donations until I can reach my goal to fly out to america with my children and wife to visit my family as it is very urgent indeed.



I've raised $310 and .24 cents of Steemit Currency in total from both My Posts and Donations from Steemit Community Members this 2017 forward and $00.00 in US Dollar Donations so far towards my goal of $ 6,000.00 (Six Thousand) US Dollars and will keep everyone updated with every new future post that I submit.
This total amount will not only include donations I've received to the Paypal account I've provided: [email protected], but it will also include the Steemit Currency that I accrue/receive from all of my personal posts starting the 1st of January of 2017 forward calculated after a 48 hour time frame is finished for the payout cycle of each post to avoid miscalculating the fluctuating price of Steemit Currency.



For more information on that, please check my New Year's/Happy Bday Post

Thanks sincerely again in advance for all your help, anything and everything helps.


A SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL GENEROUS AND GIVING DONORS HERE FROM THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!
@scammymcspambot, @prufarchy, @trevor.george, @dreemit, @inphiknit, @hopehuggs


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update

wonderful text. nice to meet you here, fellow poet. :)

Thank you so much, nice to meet you as well fellow poet. I look forward to reading your artwork now that I have followed you back. Schon Sie kennen zu lernen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59