I did it, I quit my shitty truck driving job and then all hell broke loose!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

So for the last 8 months I have worked for a gentleman in Gulf Shores, AL as a truck driver. I was driving his 2007 Volvo Semi Truck and leased on to a company out of Wisconsin. For almost all the time I worked for him the truck was constantly breaking down and he wouldn't fix it properly, just enough to get it back on the road but never properly. I never got paid for the breakdowns, never got paid for all the times I lost work or used my personal vehicle to take care of things for him or his truck.

We agreed when I started with him that I would give him 6 months and if it wasn't working out we would part as friends. Today after he put my last paycheck on my card I informed him that I could no longer work for him and was taking another job. We talked on the phone and I informed him I had no problems with him, just with the situation.

When I was hired by him he made me go to his bank and get a Prepaid Debit (Payroll) card so he could pay me. I told the bank, then, that he was not to be allowed to take money out of the account....only to add it to the account. A few hours after I told him I was quitting he came to the truck stop to get his truck. Immediately after driving off with it he texted me and accused me of stealing his chains and binders. I informed him that they were on the trailer and that I didn't steal them.

Then a few minutes later I went to the store and my credit card declined. I called and the balance was $0. I immediately called him and he refused to answer my calls. I texted him and told him to put the money back on my card or he would not like the consequences.

After numerous unanswered calls and texts to him and his wife I got a text saying "Good" (to me calling the cops). So I called the cops, after talking to 4 different officers and explaining the situation they called him and threatened to arrest him for Grand Theft and Wire Fraud if he didn't return my money. So he drove to the truck stop and his wife met me inside with a nasty attitude and handed me the check and told me I could cash it at the bank in the morning, I will be there when it opens tomorrow.

His wife claims that I owe them money and that is why they took the money from my account. They neglect to realize that when they hired me I was forced to use my personal vehicle and my money to drive from Robertsdale, AL to Racine, WI to go to orientation and then home. They neglect to realize that the first 3 weeks after orientation I sat here with no pay while the truck was in two different shops in Louisiana getting worked on. They neglect to realize that the truck was in the shop over 30 times in the 8 months I worked for them and that I never got paid a penny. They neglect to realize that I worked on the truck repeatedly during the time I worked for them and never got paid, often times I bought parts out of my own pocket and never got reimbursed for them.

They have threatened to take me to small claims court and I truly hope they do, I will have their asses. Furthermore, I am going to be contacting the Labor Board, Better Business Bureau and United States Department of Transportation on Monday and reporting him. I will also be contacting the company he currently has his hotshot (pickup) leased to and letting them know what kind of person he is.

I am sorry if this seems like a rant, but it is.....I am madder than you could possibly imagine.

During the 8 months I worked for him I lost my pickup truck (stolen because he made me park it in an unsafe location), lost 3 of my 4 guns, lost all my power tools, shop vac and numerous other things I had to pawn/sell to pay my bills because I wasn't making enough money to live on.

Let this be a lesson to everyone that reads it, when you work for someone do not let a sense of loyalty or friendship or desire to help them keep you in a bad situation. At the first sign of trouble GTFO.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Bah, what a horrible thing to have to go through... I hope they won't cause you too much trouble anymore, but it sounds like you've got a good case against them if they do.

glad you got your money back, sometimes people dont like when you follow your own direction instead of theirs.

@venuspcs, never work with or for a friend or maybe they were never a friend. This storm will pass my steemit friend.

You need that female officer to work you over one evening. Here's to better smoother roads.

Sadly it was a male officer but he was really nice and helpful.....LOL!

I am not happy to be able to say this but I have a worse situation! The really annoying part of it all is that I have to take some blame upon myself for allowing the situation to arise. People keep imploring me to move on and learn the lesson. Yes, yes, yes, but I have responsibilities and they are not being met - there are, I am sorry to say, some seriously £0@3ed up people out there who prey upon honest people and manipulate situations, immorally.
Upped and followed.

I feel your pain. Better keep business strictly business. I personally hate bosses that try to be friendly with you too early; Let's get clear about what the job is, get the job done and pay me for it first, then we'll be friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43