Equality and Fairness - are they lost concepts on Steemit?

in #blog7 years ago

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif


Those of you that have been around awhile know that last year I completely derailed and went ballistic on Steemit.com and Steemit.chat. I later apologized, profusely with video and rejoined steemit. Only to realize that the reasons I got mad were still prevalent and everywhere. So I left steemit for months, I didn't visit the website, the chat or anything. Then I slowly started making my way back into Steemit about 2 months or so ago. It appeared that things had changed, that the community had grown. I think I might have overestimated things a little.

Let me explain, what it is that pisses me off so deeply.

I, try to, follow the rules and be fair, honest and open with others. Regardless if I know them or they are just some anonymous screen name in chat. I believe that rules are designed for a reason and that everyone should have to follow them. Now with that said, if I see a rule that is not being followed by the majority I am inclined to also not follow it.

The problem, I have, with Steemit and Steemit.Chat is that the Rules are Selectively Enforced. I made the same mistake when I was a moderator and instantly got jumped by half the mod team for doing so and lost my mod privileges. Which sent me into a rage last year that almost got me permanently banned. I owned that mistake, as I screwed up and I did everything in my power to atone for that mistake.

So when I see other mods doing the exact same thing, selective enforcement, and no ones says crap to them about it.....it really chaps my arse. Worse than that is that when I point it out I am labeled a cry baby or told to "meditate", "go to anger management class" or worse.

Now there are mods, over on Discord, that are fair. Just yesterday I was in a weird place, mentally, and violated the rules a few times in Discord chat and the mod there nicely and kindly explained what I was doing wrong and warned me to stop. He didn't jump the gun and ban/mute/kick me. He took the time to be human and help me see the error of my ways. So a big thank you goes out to @aggroed.

Now I realize that we are all human, well most of us.....I am starting to think some of the people on Steemit.Chat are aliens or bots but that is just my overactive mind I am sure.....but we should all strive to be as open, honest and fair in our interactions with others as possible; especially those who have been entrusted with some form of control or power over other's and their actions.

Now for those who have read this far, you will note I did not name anyone I had a problem with; this was intentional. I am not trying to point fingers, rage, get anyone in trouble or start anything. I am merely trying to help people understand their mistakes and become better people and moderators......like I wished had been done with me when I was in their shoes!

So thank you for reading my rant friends and loved ones!


DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

Much prefer discord as a way to get to know other steemians. I got flagged a long time ago just for inviting people to try it as an alternative to steemit.chat.

Gave me a pretty bad taste.

Discord seems to be a much friendlier and understanding place for sure, but it has a learning curve. I am still trying to figure out how to do things there that are painfully easy in Steemit.Chat!

Once you come to grips with it I find it painful to go back lol. Steemit.Chat is extremely slow for me in comparison and it's far easier for me to move between servers to interact with different communities.

http://discord.gg/tPeHAYw

That's where we host the VO.TU. podcast and chill out playing games sometimes.

I saw your link on discord and followed it here. Upvoted and followed you. I'm still learning the ins and outs over there (hell, here too.) Haven't been to Steemit chat yet. Is it worth the trouble in your opinion, as I'm already investing a lot of time into learning how to be a good Steemit and discord participant?...

One thing that I like about this place is that trust is put in human relationships more than in most 3D situations. That sometimes ends up feeling unfair because your popularity may dictate how much you can get away with but if you know how to work with it you can avoid issues. Get a lot of allies on your side, not AGAINST anyone but FOR what you stand for and you will have more weight to back you up, or maybe some support that tells you when you are out of line in a supportive way.

I like that the rules can be bent, i hate the idea of a rigid rule system. I think rules are for people who don't care about others. The person I saw you arguing with today can be a bit of a dick. He's been really good to me and I still feel fine telling him directly that he's a dick. Don't take it personally. He has his own issues to sort out, so whenever possible, it'd be better to just ignore it until there comes a day when you have a chance to get along.

I see some posts worth 500-1000 that I think are really shallow and lame and fake. It sucks but If I were to focus on how unfair that is, I wouldn't have made 250 followers and $500 in my first month. Not everything is going to be fair but if you focus on you and your own goals, you can still make good things happen. Just do you man! <3

I miss the good old days when you would point fingers and lose your mind, I blame the mods for being too damn human and you finding some weird inner piece that is stifling your rants.

@venuspcs Come back to the Darkside!

LOL, if I came back to the darkside Steemit would be screwed! It is safer for everyone for me to be one with the force!

Umm yea I do! You know I do!

I know, but it is still funny to watch, although I know it is probably not in your best interest.

I don't completely agree or disagree. What I will say is that I promise to have the introduction to meditation up on Tuesday. And we will start slow so that NO one is left behind on having too many thoughts a flowing.

S**t happens. Glad you are here, i like your posts. Original and valuable. Thank you Venus

Just curious what suggestions you would make to make it an ideal Steemit?

Well the majority of this has to do more with Steemit Chat than Steemit.com. I don't know how to get people to see their nature/mistakes and willingly change their behavior. It was hard as hell for me to learn to do this, in fact I wrote a few posts about it last week.

got it got ittttt makes sense. I will look into them buddy. thanks for the content, looking forward to future content

Upvoted this amazing post...
Do check my blog for amazing Tech related content as well as I have written about the City of Gods that you might wanna check
Follow me and I'll Follow Back

Hi Venus, enjoyable read.

Really, Steemit Chat or Discord, it all boil downs to the person, isn't it?

I am a mod in the India channel on SC.

No problem so far.

We all enjoy our time, play chess, and have fun.

Heck, I let them troll me because what's life without a little fun. ;)

You know more about fun than most do.

I like you dude!

So I hope it's all good!

I like you too my friend and if everyone would relax (I know I need to as well) then things would be a lot better!

This is how normal people react to some trolling. In a way I'm just warming them up to the decentralized internet.

nice post, following ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99