18 Months on Steemit and New Drone VideosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

So it has been a whopping year and a half, a roller coaster of an adventure and I am still steeming along! Over the last two months or so I have been powering down my Steem and wanted to take a minute to let my 1500+ Followers know exactly what I have been up to.

I started the power down to fix my (now deceased) Mother's 1996 Ford E150 Coachman Conversion Van. Over the last two months I have had to replace the entire Brake System including the Vacuum Booster, Master Cylinder, Front Rotors and Pads, Rear Drums and Shoes and Axle Bearings. I have also had to begin rebuilding the Front End and have done the Tie Rod Ends so far with multiple other things still needing to be done on the front end.

I have also used some of the Steem from the power down to buy my first drone Yuneec Breeze 4k a few months ago. It is a great little drone but honestly the range and battery life are for beginners. It will only fly about 10-15 minutes at a time and is supposed to have a range of 3000 feet but is actually more like 300 feet. When the DJI Mavic Pro Fly More Combo went on sale at Best Buy I began frantically searching for it, after 5 Best Buys in 5 different states I finally found it two days ago in Columbia, MO and snatched it up for $1245. It is not for the faint of heart or slow learners let me tell you, but once you figure out the basics it is fun to operate. It has a whopping 4.3 mile (line of sight) range, 4000 feet altitude (max allowed by FAA), it is damn near impossible to crash, fly into something or otherwise get lost. I tried to fly it into several signs, light posts and power lines and it stopped itself every time. In fact the only way I can find to crash it is to not have a blade properly attached and have it come off in mid flight (yes it happened) and the darn thing still managed to land right side up.....granted after it did a side-to-side flip.

The main reason I wanted this drone is so that I can explore areas before I hike my fat ass to them.....you know to make sure I can get there or that I want to go there. Imagine being able to pull over anywhere I can find to park my semi truck, grab the drone and scout a several mile radius of me looking for cool shit before I ever get out of the truck.

Well anyway here is the first video shot with the new drone, it is short as I flew the drone about 15 minutes before I started recording.....to get the hang of it OFF CAMERA.

DQmWZ7vNxihSXUnTjYiUkYbWzp637L835LUPmkovB6tZLwt.png

Sort:  

Honestly, you made me want to buy a drone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77