Flip on rollerblades over a car doing a burnout - Steemit story

in #blog7 years ago

misty-2.jpg

So I am taking you back to 2002.

Before all the broken bones and multiple injuries that I acquired from rollerblading , it was a time when I would just bounce back up and try it again straight away before the fear or pain would kick in.

Over a couple of beers my friends and I were joking about what the most Australian stunt would be on rollerblades , and we came up with doing a misty flip ( 540 front flip ) over a Holden Kingswood doing a burnout.

misty3.jpg

The seed was planted.

I built a jump ramp and used it for a couple of launch to roof grinds and step up jumps up stair sets etc, until I got a good feel for the ramp. So now I'm halfway to making this trick happen, all I need now is someone with a kingswood that is willing to do a burnout and let me flip over it ( without landing on the car )

My good friend Helen had a mate with a kingswood so we arranged to meet at her place then take the ramp to a secret location to try the trick. Helen lived in a cul de sac so there was no traffic around so I set the ramp up and had a couple of practise flips before the car arrived. I worked out that if I hit the ramp at 55 kms I would get enough height and length to make the jump. So I got towed in by a GSXR at 55 kms 3 times and landed it clean each time.

Once the car rocked up I was already in the zone and asked if he would be down to just do it right there and then. ( which looking back on now it was a very stupid idea being in a public place etc ) but I was in the zone and i thought if we took the ramp to another location I would have to get into that head space again which is never easy once you have cooled down.

He agreed, so we blocked of the street with cars and it was game ON !!!

We parked the car in front of the jump ramp and I gave the yell to start doing the burn out. Now with the car in front of the jump, it was so much more intimidating and the reality of what was actually happening made me double think at the last second, which made me hold onto the bike just a bit to long and hit the ramp at 65 kms, which just shot me straight up into the air. The moment I hit the ramp I knew I was going too fast and best case scenario I would over rotate and not hit the gutter too hard.

misty-2.jpg

I slid on my shoulder and took some skin off my elbow, but I had to get back up and try it again straight away before the fear set in.

We lined the car back up and it was game on. I cleared my head and gave the sign. The kingswood started spinning and i let go of the bike at the right time and stomped the misty :)

misty.jpg

It was the best feeling ever haha I made the shit talking idea into a reality. And came out the other end mostly unharmed.

Check out the video right here ------->


https://d.tube/v/vcclothing/ly7n96fr

Now a long story short. The fun police rocked up shortly after and impounded the car for reckless driving. 1 court case later and a $300 fine. It took 7 weeks to get the video footage back from the cops.
Well worth it if you ask me :)

I hope you enjoy this little trip down memory lane.

If anyone knows how to embed dtube videos into posts please leave comment. I tried to copy the embed link but it doesn't work when I post it here :(

If the dtube link doesn't work here is a youtube clip with the trick at the start

Sort:  

Rad story 🤘!!! Looking forward to seeing more of your clips!

Thanks @terrybogan I will be uploading a lot of videos to dtube in the coming months. Just got to work out how to embed them into posts

Definitely the most insane thing ever! But bloody awesome!

You got a 3.52% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @vcclothing!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received a 19.80 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @vcclothing.

You got a 6.23% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @vcclothing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42