What I learned from entrepreneurship

in #blog6 years ago

entrepreneurship_01.jpg

At the end of the summer of 2017, I started a digital agency. While I was working on this idea, I had always this weird feeling in my stomach and sometimes I was in doubt if I had to continue this.

At the end of December, I had a good conversation with a friend of mine about my company. He asked me the question: "Do you really want this?"

The answer was, no. But why did I proceeded this idea and spend my summer working on this company? I had the feeling that I needed a clear set of products and services. So, I was brainstorming and thinking about things I can easily do and sell. I had ideas about making websites, web applications and I thought about making deals with hosting companies.

I was so focused on making money that I forgot what I really wanted. The idea I had before was creating my own design consultancy that helps organizations to create meaningful experiences that bring value to the world. I really love to use my design skills to make a better world! But for some reason, I took another direction.

So, what are the learnings I took out from this journey?

  • Never ignore your gut feelings.
  • Talk with other entrepreneurs about your idea.
  • Be open to criticism. I learned that this is essential for learning.
  • During the process talk with others to get early feedback on your idea. Don't stay in your bubble, it's good to get out.

What do you think about your gut feelings? Do you ignore it or do you trust it?

Sort:  

It takes a lot of strength to come to this realization about such a decision, congrats on making it now and not after 5-10 completely unsatisfying years.

Thanks! It was not easy, but I'm really happy that I came to this realization. 5- 10 years of unsatisfying years. Sounds really depressing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34