You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Powered up / Make Steemit great again / switching focus

in #blog7 years ago

Admirable and measured goals.

I am fortunate that I care little for mammon, and recently have been amongst the top flagged accounts on Steemit. I was grateful for the flags, because the conversation was about censorship, and the flags proved my point better than I ever could.

I'd like to point out that @haejin somehow learned of the flags, and countered them. No one asked him to, and no one expected them. At least not I.

@haejin is human. Not only that, he apparently cares about free speech, and censoring flags, perhaps as a result of his recent exposure to them.

I didn't figger much in the initial discussions regarding @ranchorelaxo and @haejin, except to note that minnows receive about 1% of the rewards pool, and the most outrageous claims of @haejin's rewards were that he was getting about 5% of the pool.

Given the median post payout is about $.01, 5% of that is literally nothing. @haejin's rewards are completely irrelevant to minnows. It doesn't matter to us which whales get the rewards, because no matter who it is, it isn't us.

Whales care. When your upvote is $100, 5% of that is a nice cup of coffee.

I stated that I hoped the whales flagged all their rewards back into the pool, so minnow rewards would go up by 99%. That's rewards that make a difference, particularly for folks in less fortunate economies.

It makes no difference to me either way, as I have never spent a satoshi of Steem, nor intend to. I live off wages, beating nails into submission and smashing thumbs.

So I don't use bots, I don't self-vote, and I prefer to vote on posts with payouts under $100, although it's not a rule I live by. What rewards I can share, I prefer to share with minnows. My focus is on engagement, and the incredible people I have been fortunate enough to converse with here, like you.

I hope many folks see this, and undertake to follow in your footsteps.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31