You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Powered up / Make Steemit great again / switching focus

in #blog7 years ago

I have not invested in the learning curve to use Discord to do more than communicate, so dunno how. @stevescoins, @openparadigm, or @truthforce may all be better able to do so, and I found the link on one of their blogs.

Sorry I'm so incompetent regarding what are probably simple matters!

Sort:  

It's still networking. I know you've had positive results at the Writer's Block.

If you become one of the "in crowd" your fellows on Discord are more likely to follow you and upvote. Elks Club, Masons, Cryps, Bloods, all the same thing. People affiliate, homie. Also some of these sites allow you to buy into their bot trail. PAL comes to mind. This evidently works, though I have yet to try it.

Well, that's a problem for me, as I'm an accidental networker, just getting involved in stuff I'm interested in rather than because of who is involved, or the encomiums that might proceed from such association.

I do really like the people at PAL, and hang out there a lot, despite that I refrain from joining any automated vote trails, bots, or the like. I have never actually delegated to their bots, nor even actually joined MSP, because of it. Nonetheless, I have not once noted the above referenced social issue from even one person there, which I find singular upon reflection.

It seems like SOMEONE should have been offended by my agreement with their purpose, but failure to endorse their automation goals. It hasn't happened yet, at least not to any point where I felt uncomfortable. Perhaps they reckon my failure to be rewarded by automated upvotes is penalty enough for my nonconformism with their minnow support mechanisms.

Same thing at TWB, even though folks there are far more intent on actually practicing writing, and undertake exercises just for that purpose, while I haven't. I do write a lot, but always with a purpose other than just learning about writing, and I feel guilty if I run posts by them to improve my posting skills, so I don't do it. I should though. Perhaps I was too impacted by the gift economy society of the Tlingits I was raised amongst to be able to feel comfortable impacting groups with matters I intend only to benefit myself.

PAL and TWB are great places to hang out for me not so much for the purpose of networking, but to enjoy good ideas, good company, and sparkling conversation.

PAL and TWB are great places to hang out for me not so much for the purpose of networking, but to enjoy good ideas, good company, and sparkling conversation.

That's the way to make friends, and if they like you and what you have to say, they'll follow you and upvote your posts and comments. Certainly people go to these chat rooms to get noticed, but when you are genuinely interested and contribute, it is natural for people to warm to you and become familiar. I have a hard time sitting still that long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32