Cashing out some Steem to pay for the veterinary bill

in #blog6 years ago

Good morning, everyone. I hope all of my Steem friends have been good lately, and that some of you might even have missed my seeing my biology posts in your feed. In this post I'm going to be doing another full @valth blog post to explain why I have been absent from the blockchain lately (believe me, I'm not going to disappear from Steemit anytime soon).

Why @valth has been gone for almost a week

About a week ago, I started to notice how my pet pug had began to be very lazy - even more so than usual. He did not really do anything beside sleep, and ate a bit less than I liked. I figured that he probably had the flu or something like that, and expected him to get better after a few days of relaxing.

DSC_0906.JPG

However, the opposite happened. When the weekend arrived, he had gotten progressively worse, and now he didn't even want to walk anymore. When I managed to get him up to his feet, he could not walk straight, but rather just walk to the left, or go around in circles. After doing some tests to try to figure out what was wrong, me and my wife quickly agreed that he most likely had a neurological disorder, due to a few different reasons. He kind of behaved as a drunk person. At this point we're a bit over our heads when it comes to dog disease, so it was obviously time to visit the veterinarian.

After some more tests and a blood analysis, he agreed with us that it was a neurological problem, and pinpointed it to likely be necrotizing meningoencephalitis, also known as Pug Dog encephalitis (PDE). Basically it is an inflammation of a part of the brain, which leads to death in almost all cases if the dog does not respond to the treatment.

Right now he is being treated by a drug called Prednisolone, and he seems to be responding fine. He is acting a little better, but I don't want to celebrate just yet, because he is still a long way from being "cured" (cured is a pretty bad word actually, since there is no cure - just removal of the symptoms).

Due to the fact that it is a "common" pug disease, the insurance won't cover the veterinary bill, so for this reason I have cashed out some of the Steem/SBD on my account for the first time. I cashed out almost $1,000, and the sad part is that the vet bill was almost this high as well..

Going forward

So, that's pretty much the reason why I haven't had either time or energy to be on Steemit the last few days. I've been very busy with going to the vet, administering medicine, making sure he is not having any seizures etc.

Life is starting to get back to normal now, because it's not like we can just quit real life because our dog is sick, and I fully plan to start spending more time on Steemit again. I have so many posts and comments to read and respond to, and sorry that I haven't gotten around to checking them out earlier. I know from @ginabot that a lot of you have mentioned me in various posts and comments, so I'm definitely looking forward to getting back to Steemit now.

And thanks for reading this post. I honestly don't know why I'm sharing this with all of you, but it feels kind of therapeutic to write this, and to be able to share my misfortune. Anyway, check back later tonight for a science post again, and hopefully I have been able to respond to most missed comments in the meantime.

Sort:  

Good to have you back @Valth, you have been missed!
Hoping that your pug friend gets well soon. I am holding my fingers crossed.

Thanks! It's great to be back as well. I missed Steemit a lot, so I'm really excited to be back again ;)

I honestly don't know why I'm sharing this with all of you,

Sharing is caring. Grief shared is grief divided and joy shared is joy multiplied. I wish that "pug" will soon recover from neurological problem.
Glad to know that Steem income helped you to bear the health expanses of pug. Wishing you all the best and happy life. keep sharing @valth

Thank you! What you're saying makes a lot of sense, and it really do help to share stuff.

it really do help to share stuff.

Inded it is. so @valth is again on track by posting & commenting regularly. keep it up. Amazing news that steem is also going well:)

Yep, I'm trying to get back to my normal schedule now ;)

that's good. I am trying to get rid of my laziness:P

I am trying to get rid of my laziness:P

Hehe, it can often be pretty difficult to stop being lazy. For me it's all about routine - make a good one and stick to it :)

it can often be pretty difficult to stop being lazy

True words, but honestly speaking i am not lazy at all. However, i show laziness while writing a blog post. It may be due to less views on my post. Hopefully will get rid from this sort of laziness soon. :) Thanks for telling the secret @valth

Ohhh.so sorry to know...may he get well soon....Seeing your pet in trouble is a horrible feeling...I know trust me!
I own three persians and if anyone gets in trouble , I lose my sleep...

Yeah, it feels terrible when a pet is ill :(

Persians are so cute cats! You should post some pictures of them sometime :)

Yeah...definitely Sure I will:)

Such a caring attitude, your love to towards your dog is really good.
You know these animals as just as important as we humans and they deserve to be treated and taken care of at all times.
The dog is really worth taking care of, they are usually faithful and loving.
Thank God he is doing great now. Prednisolone is an anti-inflammatory drug and also and immunosupressive drug. I guess he is really going through a lot for such drug be used, but I believe he will get better.
Thanks for sharing this

Thanks. I agree with what you're saying, and we really should be taking very good care of our animals.

This beautiful and good that you can cover the expenses with your income from steemit, take care of it or I just lost my dog ​​suddenly got sick and died, very sad and painful. Greetings friend.

Yeah, it at least felt nice to be able to use my blogging earnings to pay for the huge medical bill. I'm sorry to hear that you lost your dog! It really sucks to lose a pet that you love :(

So is a very sad friend remembering his absence, he had since puppy, take care of your pet. Now I have the other that I am a little sick and very expensive all to cover the costs of truth that costs a lot and here in Venezuela even more. that's why I'm still working here to get help. A big hug, balances.

I'm really sorry that this has happened to you, but I'm glad sharing it has helped a bit.

For what it's worth, my relatives' Boston terrier has an analagous condition, but responds well to the same drug and has had many happy, quality doggy years since the diagnosis.

That's good to hear! He seems to be doing a bit better for each day now, so it might seem like it will be fine after a while. Thanks for the comment! :)

Hello, wondering if you recognize my name as I'm a regular reader and sometimes commenter. I hope your puggy feels better!
I also wanted to ask if you knew any other ways to spend SBD here on steem. I want to make a small investment such as with steembasicincome (already did that), are there any similar projects out there that you know of?
Obviously a vet bill isn't something ideal to spend our hard earned money on but emergencies happen and it is a nice pocket of savings to fall back on. I wish to become as successful as you.
PS
Greetings from my animals!

IMG__201709262__052027.jpg

Hehe, yeah, I remember your name, @proto26 :)

As a matter of fact, I would suggest that you check out @qurator. There you can pay to be a member to get upvotes for life after having paid, a lot like @steembasicincome.

Cute cats by the way!

Thanks for the advice and for the compliment!

Glad to know your pet pug is responding to treatment.
Pug, saved by steem/sbd :)

Hehe, it's kind of a cool story I guess, as long as he makes it trough it ;)

oOh, this soo cute pug, i liked soo much, but m soo sorry for hearing that, i hope he's recovered this problem soon. that's good you come back though i missed your post ;)

Thank you for saying that :)

Welcome back and I wish your adorable pug abundant health and long life.

Oh thats good words to hive a tribute..

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76