Why I chose the University I did?

in #blog6 years ago

Hey guys!

I’m back! Aaaand I finally found a university that I can call mine!

Honestly, having to choose the right university has been difficult for me, especially since I have to consider a lot of things.

jessica-lewis-623890-unsplash.jpg
Source

After applying to about 7 universities, being offered to about 5, I finally chose Infrastructure University Kuala Lumpur (IUKL) as the place to continue my studies. In about 1 week, I will be registering into my new university. Gosh I’m excited and nervous at the same time.

Here are some criteria that I consider when choosing my future university:

1. Desired discipline
I have always known personally that I want to study engineering, specifically Aerospace Engineering. However, due to the limited amount of universities that offer such a course, I opt for Mechanical Engineering instead. By knowing the exact course that I want to study, I can already eliminate the universities that don’t offer Mechanical Engineering.

2. Location
The location of the university can determine the whole experience of studying in a university. Wanting a place that allows me to go out and explore, I think studying in Kuala Lumpur or somewhere nearby will give me a lot of opportunities. Once knowing the exact place I want to move to and study, searching for universities in that area become easier.

3. Cost
A priority concern when it comes to studying is the cost. Therefore, I paid extra attention to the overall price of the study programs, especially the tuition fees. Luckily for me, IUKL awarded a 100% Scholarship for my first semester and if I am able to maintain good grades in the following semesters, I will be eligible for the 50% Scholarship for the next semesters.

4. Accommodation
I am able to rent a room at one of the on-campus accommodation, located about 10 mins walk from the campus. While the rent isn’t that cheap, I think it’s understandable since it’s in a secured condominium with gym and swimming pool. For me, being able to book a room through the university makes it easier for me.

While there are more criteria I should pay attention to, I don’t think I’m in a situation where I can take my sweet time choosing. Now that the application process is out of the way, I look forward to the registration day and the first day of lecture!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope you like it and if you do, do poke the upvote button!!
With Love,
Vael Riey

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79