10 Things I will Miss Now that I'm No longer in Germany

in #blog6 years ago

Hey Steemians!

It has been a week since I left Germany for good. Although being back at home feels good, I cant help but to miss Germany.

Almost 3 years in Germany, I’ve had the chance to create great memories there and I couldn’t help it but to remember and miss the good times I had there.

IMG_2811.jpg

DQmc2H3Lgvc1aWLMBBeokhh3AkjrLpjDqsB49SqVYB7nXAy.png

1 : Preparation course in Cologne
My time in Cologne was special for me. 6 months learning Intensive German and also preparing for exams to enter university, Cologne has a special spot in my heart. I have been wanting to go back and visit Cologne if I had the chance but it seems like it’s not going to happen in the meantime and I kinda regret it.
Cologne was the first place where we got to learn German culture. As for me, it was my first time being so far from my parents, so this was the phase when I learnt to do everything on my own. Still surrounded by my Malaysian classmates, the adapting and learning phase weren't hard at all. In fact, I really enjoyed my time in Cologne.

2 : Cologne Carnival
While I was in Cologne, I had the opportunity to experience the Carnival. During the Carnival, parades took place all over the city and people dressed up in costumes. During the parade, candies and snacks were thrown out to the spectators. I still remember how excited we were when we all went for costumes shopping. Ignoring the cold weather, I dressed up as a police woman.
IMG_0666.jpg

3 : Hanging Out with Host Parents
In Cologne, we were assigned to host parents. They taught us how to separate our garbage, how to clean the house during winter and so on. I still remember how we were scolded a few times for doing things the wrong way. Eventually we got the hang of it. Sometimes you just need a good scolding to do it right.
Aside from the scoldings, the thing I remember the most is the Easter egg hunting during Easter! Our host parents actually hid some Easter eggs in their backyard and invited my housemate and I to their backyard to search for it. Sometimes they even prepared breakfast for us. Our host parents put so much effort to make sure we enjoy our time in Cologne.
IMG_1393.jpg
Experienced first summer sled run with host parents

4 : Proudly wearing Baju Kurung during Raya Celebration
If there’s one thing I noticed while I was in Germany, that will be that people in Germany don’t often wear colorful clothes. So when we wear our colorful Baju Kurung and took the public transport, we can definitely sense the staring eyes. But I must say that we cant help it but to feel proud wearing Baju Kurung in Germany.
IMG_1725.jpg

5 : Beautiful Churches, Museums and Castles
Europe has a lot of beautiful churches and museums. While I was in Germany, I had the chance to visit the churches. Visiting churches always reminds me of my mom because she likes to see beautiful churches. But as I visit more cities around Germany, we tend to skip the churches since there’s so much to explore and there’s no time for churches.
Whereas for the museums, I didn’t get to visit much since most of my travel companions are not interested in Museums.
And as for castle, the only castle I have visited is the Drachenburg Castle. The first time I visited the Castle, it was fairytale-like and I have to visit it another time. The most famous castle in Germany is the Neuschwanstein Castle and I have been wanting to visit it but have been putting it off for the right time. Another regret! Now I know not to put things off, especially the ones I really want to do :(

IMG_1158.jpg

6 : Travelling
Being in Germany makes it easy for me to travel to the countries in Europe. Although I didnt get to tick a lot out off my bucket list, I was lucky enough to be able to visit Paris, Barcelona, Praque and Lisbon, while I'm in Germany.
In fact, living in Germany makes it easy for me to attend last year's Steemfest. Now that i'm no longer there, I think it would be a bit difficult to join the next Steemfest.
Untitled-5.png

7 : Christmas Market
One of the thing that I will miss terribly would be Christmas Market and Christmas in Germany itself. Although the Christians in Malaysia do celebrate Christmas, the ambiance is very different compared to Germany. And I especially love the Christmas Market for it’s colorful Christmas light, beautiful ornaments, delicious food and not to forget, the Glühwein!
DSC03501.JPG

8 : Cold winter
Some might hate the harsh cold winter, but as for me, I love the winter more than summer. Now that I’m back in Malaysia, I will definitely miss the winter and the white snow.

9 : Comfortable public transports
The Germans might not agree with this, but I find the public transportation in Germany is comfortable and convenient. I have no trouble getting around the cities with the public transport. Although I have heard some complains that the public transport are not punctual, I find it to be tolerable.
I will definitely miss this since I find the public transport in Malaysia to be rather confusing and is not as comfortable.

10 : Long distance train
I love travelling to other cities with the train. Although travelling with the trains can be more expensive and it takes longer time, I still prefer travelling with the trains. I don’t mind sitting for hours in the train as long as I’m accompanied with beautiful scenery along the journey. Unlike travelling with the plane, I find that travelling with trains is less hassle and less stressful. I can always reach the train station 15 mins before departure, I don’t have to go through long lines of security check, I can bring whatever I want on board and I don’t have to worry about bad weather.

DQmc2H3Lgvc1aWLMBBeokhh3AkjrLpjDqsB49SqVYB7nXAy.png

Since coming back to Malaysia for good was a little unexpected, there's so much things that I regret not doing and I just wish that I could turn back the time and make the most out of my stay in Germany. However, now that it has happened and I cant avoid the situation, I will cherish the memories and will work hard to make sure I finish what I started in Germany.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope you like it and if you do, do poke the upvote button!!
With Love,
Vael Riey

Sort:  

Seeing you in Steemfest was a wonderfully pleasant experience indeed! What a bummer though that you don't expect to attend the next steemfest. No worries!! You should always make the best of what is handed to you.

If anything else, being alone in Germany has given you immense personal growth and life experience that i should say not many people of your age get to enjoy.

Great writing as always! I love how you write in a way that's both easy to read and scan, might I say the pictures are beautiful too!! Love the aesthetics and colors.

Aaaaw thank you ☺️
Unless i have extra money and Steemfest is during holiday, i dont expect to join the next Steemfest. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97