RED FLAG! is this fair? Does the system need to change?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

It Was An Accident

After foolishly and mistakenly flagging a steemit user under the suspicion of fraudulent activity I found myself in a sudden and devastating war of the flags, I had entered a certain loosing battle where I was not outnumbered but certainly outgunned.

Unfortunately my conditioned response of "shoot first, think later" saw to it that I unleashed an attack on an allied steemboat fighting the same enemy, said steemboat quickly retaliated with destructive blows and a shocking display of fire power that left me helpless to the onslaught.

I watched as what little steemies I had gathered, along with the posts and comments they were rewarded for, disintegrated before my very eyes.

It was carnage.

I'm a big boy and upon realising my attack was on an allied ship I promptly apologised and attempted to undo what little damage I may have done, but I was still left seriously wounded and these are the consequences of my mindless and violent reaction.

However, in the hypothetical situation that a little fishy has a post with 500 votes of support from minnows but a whale or even a dolphin disagrees with the content or the creator they then have the power to flag this little fishy and destroy his or her posts and earnings and reputation.

Now unless your as stupid as me then this should never happen as it seems steemit is generally a fair and pleasant place to swim around in, but..

should flagging not be a tool whereby the majority get to decide the fate of a post rather than those with the most power?

It is to similar to politics the way it is now and I feel it should change.

Sort:  

I think the flagging thing takes away peoples right to free speech so I won't use it myself but wouldn't be surprised if someone flagged me already.
How do we know if someone flagged us?

Top right corner of your post.
If the flag vote outweighs the vote worth of the upvotes the post gets hidden.

Thank you, Hopefully I won't find out what it's like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76