You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teaching - A good, honourable profession or just a trap?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Your writing is very good. You must have had great teachers or very poor teachers against whom you rebelled and in so doing proved your excellence ;-) Either way you look at it, our teachers shape us for better or worse.

I always wanted to be a teacher, since my days at school. It was really just the prospect of making more money than a teacher which drew me to do a masters in Counselling. After several years of practising, growing miserable as I experienced my country move toward ruin, I took flight and have been teaching in Asia since 2001. I don't regret it one bit as I have managed to offer my kids a safe environment, good education and they have all adopted Korea and the language here as their own.

I enjoy teaching a great deal. But you are right, it can be a trap and sometimes, something of a 'net' which catches people who are not cut out or feel no real passion for this vocation at all. Depending how they respond to the challenge, they may do a lot of damage to others and ultimately, to themselves too.

I enjoyed what I read of your posts so far. I look forward to reading more of your shares and observations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64