You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Frokost til haws" - breakfast beer?

in #blog6 years ago

Weather is so glorious in Norway right now. I just spent a week and I wished I could have stayed longer. Pure magic. One regret, I did not get to jump into the ocean or go to the seaside. You must be in heaven out there, with or with our beer. Ill say, Norwegians can have a beer with lunch. It all depends. maybe not on a work day :-)

Sort:  

Yes, this would have been the perfect place to stay this weekend if I would have had time to enjoy the weather. I couldn't really do bathing, as I would risk getting salty water on the surfaces where I was varnishing.

People were bathing all over the place. There is a nice, shallow sandy beach there, perfect for the youngest kids to play in the water.

Previous weekend (actually Monday, as it was a day off) it was a bit too cold for bathing - at least out where my boat was anchored up, the water was warmer on the shallow beach. I did do a long swim, but with my wet suit. It seems like quite some of the seems on the wet suit has started leaking. I jumped in for a second time after eating, still in the wet suit, but even with the wet suit I felt cold. Other people were bathing without wet suit previous weekend too, but I didn't see anyone doing any swimming - just quickly out and quickly up again. Lots more people bathing this weekend, and they spent more time in the water too.

I had decided to varnish the aft side of the ship again due to some scratches I got in Moss (embarrassing story, trying to forget about it) plus the cockpit area as it was definitively needed. We have a cockpit tent, and for various reasons I decided not to take it down (just removing the aft wall to make it a bit open) ... maybe a mistake to varnish the cockpit now, it was extremely hot under the tent, and I came to think - the cockpit area could as well be varnished on a day with rain or in the edge seasons. I came relatively late Saturday and I was still varnishing when it started to become dark ... clearly a mistake, I'm not quite happy with the results of some of the work I did. I started with the other half of the cockpit area really early Sunday to avoid the worst heat. It was sort of working out, except in the end the sweat was dripping from me. Quite bad, the varnish should neither be exposed to humidity nor salt ... so it's obviously not at all good when the sweat is dripping into the bucket with varnish or onto the newly varnished surfaces.

Sunday there was quite some wind - that helped a lot, I could just go out on the deck, spread out my arms and legs and stand in the wind for a short while to cool down.

That is luxury though, for being in Norway, this kind of weather. But yes, I can understand it got hot, we kept running through the water spreader in the garden. Quite an ordeal taking care of these boats, haha your story is a bit funny, but hope it turns out ok in the end. Do you know how many degrees there was in the water then, this weekend? The subject came up of course at dinner haha I guessed 18°C Is that too high?

We do have a themperature sensor connected to the navigation system, but it's seriously broken, in one autumn it started showing higher and higher temperatures despite the real temperature going down. I've stopped consulting it, guess it shows around 60C now.

Hahaha Thats funny :-)

Hottest may ever recorded :) Great pictures. I love life at sea. I always get seasick on boats larger than 30 feet, but I love it nontheless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56