Sort:  

I'm hoping so! :)

Charlie's cat look! He was intent on nibbling on the notepads, so I clicked my fingers and he whipped his head up and I clicked the photo, haha. This is what he looked like a few minutes before:

111120200110_210258.jpg

What beautiful penmanship the old farmer has, and what ambition and true grit, penning all those words in a spiral notebook - bless him! I'm soooo glad you connected with him, typed and edited, even got Charlie's blessing (has Charlie met the farmer in person? I'd like to see that!) - and now to get published - Indie Authors aren't limited to Amazon, but Kobo, Google, and other self-pub venues just aren't getting as many eyes on new books. If he has $$$ to invest, paying $200 or so to NetGalley to send ARCs to beta readers/reviewers is a good way to get advance book reviews going. You never know: sometimes an elderly citizen writing about pre-computer childhoods really hit a vein and go viral. It happened for a Midwest farmwife/grandma with the book about her childhood running free on a farm. A real publisher snapped it up and re-titled it "Little Heathens." Little Heathens: Hard Times and High Spirits on an Iowa Farm During the Great Depression by Mildred Armstrong Kalish | Apr 29, 2008

I bought a copy (paperback, new, $13) - and never read it. It's been almost 12 years. Why didn't I read it... it's still on my shelf. I cannot explain.But it's time I go open those pages.

Good luck with your new friend's novel!!!

He mostly wants to self-publish in paperback so he can gift it to a few friends and family and has found a local place -- which I had no idea existed! -- that are happy to create paperback books for him.

Might keep them in mind for myself too, because it'll be much nicer to work with a local company than dealing with mass-manufacturing via an online company. :) If the time ever comes...

I'm seeing him again on Friday because he needs help emailing the document to the company and will show him his online options too. His son is very computer literate apparently and may be able to help him after I show him what's available. I'll mention NetGalley, also, and mention Little Heathens!

:D

Charlie met him on Monday when he picked up his notepads and the finished print-out. Apparently he doesn't own a cat or grow catnip, but the room the books were in had a mice-problem at one stage so that could explain Charlie's obsession!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55