4 Things Steemit Taught Me About Blogging

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys!



Today I want to share about my journey on Steemit so far and what I have learned in this journey. Steemit for me was a totally different direction in life, one that I had never thought I would walk on. If you follow my blog, I think you know that I am a pharmacist by profession and this world of blogging was a totally different one for me.

Before joining Steemit, I had no experience blogging and I had never quite written anything before. Yes, I have always had an interest for the creative stuff like sketching and painting and I love food and preparing various cuisines. But until I found Steemit, I never really found a platform where I could share about this stuff with a larger audience.

Therefore, you can only imagine my happiness and excitement when I finally stumbled upon here where I could share my passions with not only a great community of people but also make a living in the process. It has been almost 4 months now that I have been here and I have learned a great deal of things already. Today, I want to share what I learned about blogging in these past 4 months.


1. Quality Content

1.png

No matter where you go in the world, people like to experience only quality stuff. Be it products, services, or anything else, people only value something if it exudes quality and the same goes for your blog. Slowly as I learned more about the world of blogging this thing became absolutely clear for me and so a couple months back, I reinvented my blog in a way so as to only post quality content.

So, you might be thinking, what is quality content in the first place? Well, there are many things of note here. First of all, the ideas or other creative things that you are sharing has to be attention grabbing. The thumbnail and the title of the post are included in this as well. Then there is the presentation of your information and the formatting of it. If you do these things, about half your job is done and the rest half is done with your writing skills that you can develop over time.


2. Credible Sources

2.jpg

When you are writing a blog post, you are essentially sharing a lot of information in it. If it is fiction or a sketch or painting, that’s a different matter but if your post is about things that are relating to facts, you should make sure that you are stating facts and facts and not opinions as facts. If your readers find out that you are misleading them, it will be really detrimental for your blog.

For this purpose, it is important to cite as many credible sources as possible for your blog post so that your readers can verify any facts or information that you are sharing. Yes, sometimes it can be tedious to find these sources and to link them, but the hard work will pay off when your own reputation builds over time.


3. Interacting With Readers

3.jpg

Your readers are the people you are writing your blog for. They are essentially the other half of your life and it is important to build a connection with them and to get to know them better and also to understand what kind of content they like and what kind of content they do not like. It is always a very good habit as a blogger to stay in touch with them.

For this purpose, you could reply to every comment that you receive on your blog posts and you can also take it one step further and make friends with as many as possible and to constantly ask for feedback and to ask for what kind of posts they would like to read in the future. If you write about what they request, it will help you build that ever important connection.


4. Write About What You Love

4.jpg

This is perhaps the most important thing that I have learned here on Steemit on my blogging journey so far. We all have things that we are passionate about in life and as a blogger, you should write only about those kind of stuff. If you write about things that you don’t care about as a formality, your readers can immediately notice the difference in your writing.

When you are writing about topics that you love, your writing shows that and readers enjoy it more since it is just natural. Yes, as I said in the previous point, you can take requests from readers about things to write on but still, you should focus on what you love more and in time, your readers will respect that.



Follow me @travel-cuisine


Sort:  

I agree with everything you said... It occured to me, maybe it could be translated for real life:

  1. Do your best
  2. Be responsible
  3. Be social
  4. Do your thing!

It's very valuable review about steemit , Thanks for your helpful post

Totally agree with you. And many people should read this post, so I am going to Upvote it and Resteemit. Blogging is not writing silly comments. Blogging is content, followers attention and enjoying what you do by writing about what you are involved with or you know best. That's why I usually write about bitcoins or investments. And the idea behind is teaching people there is another world on these themes. I just wrote about the two new forks that are close to happen, if you have some curiosity about this and how to get free bitcoin, click on my name. Being a pharmacist probably you are not too close to all of this.

Oh perfect was just looking for a post like this 👌🏼 Blogging and especially writing is so new to me 🙈 it’s a bit scary. Thank you for sharing and your blog is awesome 😘

Perfect this is a great review of steemit

I agree. It can be scary in the beginning. Even I feel anxious at times but we just have to focus on the basics.

The very first thing which I done after reading your post is voteup. And its because of u explained it so well that I had really not fine in any post .
Sir I appreciate your working. It may inspaire many other. Like it inspires me.I have blog regarding fun elements, can you plz do a visit to my post. And upvote them which u like and if u like the content then plz do follow me friend. Actually I need your support .

I am so glad you liked it so much. thankyou :)

Can u please some a favour please visit my blog and look at the post and formats and please give some suggestions how to improve. And also if possible for u vote up or follow. Its just an request to you.

These are some really valuable points and I totally agree. :)

I can agree with everything you said.
You are absolutely​ right.
A good advice​ for everyone.

I love Steemit, it is a hybrid between reddit and FB, eith rewards! Could easily change the social media environment especially with SMT

I love steemit too. Yes, the future is really exciting.

Regarding 3 - Steemit is not a very "community" oriented network, although it has comments in it. A lot of my interaction with my readers happens on the chat. So I would call this "engaging your audience". But that might be just because I am a marketer by trade. :)

yes, a lot of interaction happens on chat but we are all steemians at the end of the day no matter where we connect.

I agree with you 100%. I have had a very similar Steemit journey to yours. I started blogging about five months ago with no previous blogging experience. You are right on all counts, for me quality, good research, catchy headers and interaction with those who comment are key. I also spend time looking at the new Steemians who post, it is exciting to see the emergence of real talent. Thanks for an informative post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94