Demacho Farms: Water is the most valuable commodity when living off grid~!

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

160823: Last Monday was Demacho Farms’s one week anniversary and I have dozens of wonderful stories, images and videos I want to share, but the need for water must take center stage. When living off grid, there are three key considerations. One is power and we have resolved this need in the most efficient and effective way which I will share with you on my next post. The second is sewage and there are many different ways to properly achieve this need so I’ll just ignore it for now. The third and most important factor is water.  The obvious solution is to simply dig a well. I’ve researched this online and there are various DIY ways to achieve this, but you need a garden hose and why would you dig a well if you have a hose with water? There are professionals you could call, but depending on your location, prices can vary tremendously. The biggest concern is that they will actually dig deeper than you need because they usually charge by the foot. We’ve been trying to somehow get around digging a well because I am in Central Florida and it rains here a lot. It poured the first day we got here so we enjoyed a wonderful shower in the rain. Everyone should experience this amazing activity. So here is what I’ve been doing… 

I’m sure all physics students can determine how long it would take to fill all the buckets, but I’m not so I’ll just say this…interestingly enough, 5 Gal buckets are one foot in diameter. 3’ x 3’ = 9 buckets = 45 Gal is a lot of water, but the feisty lady named Mother Nature will give you water only when she wants to.  

Here is another ghetto setup. 

The well guy is coming tomorrow to give me an estimate and I’ll be able to get this stink off me~! I decided to add two other features to my posts. One will be a feature on a neighbor whether plant, insect, or animal, and Two will be a Time-Lapsed sunrise. It’ll take me awhile to get into a groove because 3G was decent many, many years ago, and I’m finally on LTE, but they limit my tethering even though I’m on an unlimited plan…. NEIGHBOR:  The Sandhill Crane~!

TIME-LAPSE: Look very closely to the left bottom. You can see three hot air balloons~! 

Thank you all for watching and I look forward to seeing you again soon~!

Sort:  

I see that you have a tent but do you have a building on the property with a roof? If so that is a good way to collect by channeling the water through the gutter into a holding tank.

Yes he has a 30' trailer. I've been telling him the same thing! Hopefully he gets that set up asap. Thanks for the suggestion :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50