The DYI Star Wars Stormtrooper outfit

in #blog6 years ago

My eldest son (14) has been constructing a Star Wars Stormtrooper outfit, almost without any help at all (except for some help shopping parts). It's pretty amazing. He was not quite done with the outfit when those photos were taken, spent two more days getting the last details right and went to some convention with it during the weekend.

I'm quite proud of him ... albeit, I'd wish he could have done a little bit of cleaning work, the living room is still full of small parts and tools lying around.

All photos available in better resolution on IPFS QmVWgbRqn5NsDFaoU28cdRCu2gae1F3fAiDPgmjygBA711. License: CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

He's done the suit you do the cleaning. You can't just show off with his suit on Steemit and not pay for the fame :)

Man this hard core stuff........ if this is DIY than your kid has some pretty solid talent. This has been done really well because I can see some of the details. How long did it take him to make it?

The helmet was not made by him ... well, he did enhance it a bit. Totally he has probably spent a couple of months. Of course not full-time, but one hour here and one hour there.

The whole story started a bit before halloween 2016, he wanted to be dressed as a storm trooper. He found something costing several thousands of Euros, "please dad, can you buy this for me?". After some negotiating I eventually bought a quite cheap outfit, and he used it on haloween, but he wasn't much happy with it.

Maybe a month or two before halloween 2017 he asked me to buy some EVA-foam, because he wanted to "enhance the outfit". The foam I found was crazy expensive, but anyway ... I bought it. I was quite surprised that the only thing he kept from the old outfit was the helmet. He worked very hard with the custome the weeks before Halloween ... and was still working with it after his younger siblings came home with their bags full of candies. It was almost done, but partly a disaster as he was quite unable to put it on, and as the glue didn't stick very well.

Some weeks later there was some gaming convention he wanted to go to, and there was also a small cosplay arrangement within the convention, so he wanted to use his costume there - and he continued working on it. But in the end he went there without the costume. Now he started working again on it maybe two or three weeks ago.

Man this is some excellent work, understandably a kid going to school can only do it part time. I zoomed in the picture and saw a few rough spots but over all it was excellently built. Good thing is that this suit is a modular one, so he won't be out growing in the next year and might be able to use it again. So even if he missed a couple of events this time, hopefully he would be on top of it for the next few :-)

I myself am not exactly unskilled in building DIY stuff of my own. Although I am mostly into electronics but still I can see that his workmanship stands out. If possible, next time you can ask him if he wants to document the build and share it with us..............might be fun for you guys :-)

That's pretty convincing. I hope he's enjoyed all the work he's put in. Generally, that makes the project more memorable and meaningful. I wondered if it might be for Halloween, but going to a convention would be up there on the list, too, so either or both would be awesome.

It's hard to get scale from the photos, so I have no idea how tall he is, but just based on what I see, this scene from the original Star Wars came to mind.

I think he's done a great job on the stormtrooper outfit and you can tell him so if you like. :)

Awesome. Doing great for his mind and physical health. It gives him lot of confidence.

Yes, must be good for the confidence. He has a habit (just like his father ... and to some extent, mother as well) of starting with projects and then either giving up or losing the motivation to continue with it, or simply prioritizing other things. I'm very pleased to see him actually complete with something. I wasn't at home this weekend, but the fact that he went to this convention both Friday, Saturday and Sunday means this project must have gone pretty well in the end.

Does the pictures show up for you? They are missing both in my firefox and chromium, but if I copy the image location and try to fetch it with wget, it works. Weird.

Now they work for me. Nice.

Powerranger :-D

@tobixen Thats look awesome and that suit was Great.
Also check my posts @crypto.update

“Power! Unlimited power!” cool :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78