Our summer vacation 2018, day 1-2: Grorud - Copenhagen

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Our summer vacation started this Saturday afternoon. First, packing. My favorite shoes are completely worn out, I may need to bring with me the new shoes ... and, I would also like to bring my roller skates. Those roller skates were used last time maybe in year 2001, now I've just gotten all the bearings and wheels exchanged. Am I still able to skate or have I grown too old for it? Time will tell ... but can I manage to fit everything onto my small rucksack? Yes, actually ...

Anyway, it didn't feel good for my back, since I have back problems I decided to throw it on the bike of my eldest son ...

Here we are, going for Denmark! My youngest daughter is sitting behind me. My middle son learned biking just some few days ago ...

We're cheating a bit. Leaving Oslo by ferry.

From one of the playrooms in the ferry

Island in front is part of the Oscarsborg fortress. Not much fortress at this side (there is actually a sandy beach there, but not visible at this photo), after all, we're at the backside.

I tried taking some photos from the "sharp" end of Oscarsborg, but due to the sun in the background it didn't get much good. Oscarsborg is worth a post on its own, I'll get to it one day ...

This photo doesn't show much ... but there is a part of the fortress there, under the water. An underground barrier will stop any ship trying to go on the west side of the fortress island, forcing traffic over to the cannon side.

Next morning we arrived in Copenhagen. Getting back to our boat, I noticed this unhappy neighbour boat ... with floating fenders and rescue bouy. I was here two weeks ago, but can't remember to have seen it - did it sink recently? I had to ask my deck hand from two week ago, he had actually observed it like this two weeks ago.

My middle son has just learned to bike, now he's even biking in a foreign country.

All photos available in best resolution on IPFS QmUnQowbgX6qPM5pFru37w5MMoiKoP6RvSGb3yoSW2YMX2. License: CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

Looks cozy! Seems going to Lalandia is the mainstream thing to do, but better to get your children active. My mother cycled with me all around Norway when I was 2-3. I still remember some of it. Thyborøn is probably one of my favorite Danish "cities". Used to go out on a fishing boat once. Amazing waves! Have a nice holiday:)

We've been twice to Thyborøn, coming from Kristiansand, Dyreparken both times. Last year we stayed one extra day there due to the weather, it was crazy. We saw a fishing boat on the way out, looking on how it was fighting the waves we considered it was a wise idea to stay one day extra.

Despite the heavy "fortification" against the sea around the harbour, our boat got constantly sprayed with very small particles of salty water. It evaporated fast, leaving a salty layer on the boat.

At the corner where the harbour meets the land, there was a small opening towards the beach, and it was like full sand storm walking there.

Man you are so right about the shoes being worn out.............the first thing I noticed was the wear and tear on the sole. It seems you have traveled well my man :-)

Although all the pictures didn't load but from what I can see your family looks great :-) Enjoy the trip!

The shoes shown are the new shoes. They haven't been used much yet, and I'm trying to save them a bit.

Merrell Jungle Moc - perhaps the build quality has gotten worse over the years. My first pair lasted for several years, hence I decided to try to find the same model on Internet. I've been wearing out quite some jungle mocs after that.

Although new, the sole on the right one looked a little worn ............ but who am I to say? My boots have barley any treads left in the sole :-)

What a load has your oldest son on his bike...
The vacation seems promising and sunny, except the sunk boat. Have fun there and watch your back...and your sons!

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Oscarsborg is worth a post on it's own, I'll get to it one day .
It should be its own instead of it's own.

Please don't come to my page lol

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tobixen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=our-summer-vacation-2018-day-1-2-grorud-copenhagen


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I was a bit uncertain what to do here - the post covers one distance with a starting point and an end point. Is it possible/advisable to put two coordinates in a post, or is it better to just skip geotagging at all?

Happy family. Have a nice vacation and tour. Wish your safe journey.

Some of the photos aren't loading! They are just showing picture icon.

patience. Works for me now :-)

wow with all family. So inspiring way to grow a child. Good luck and have fun!

I gotta say the ferry looks like quite the adventure.. that's cool that ya'll took the bikes with.. especially cool that your son is biking in a foriegn country..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81