Tinythoughts- Anxious

in #blog7 years ago

1497894908925.jpeg

My anxiety leaves me breathless. It fills my chest with flames that burn the oxygen before it reaches my lungs. Every touch meant to show care is another pain on my skin, numbing every inch. Any voice that isn't mine, no even mine, makes my heart feel like it's crushing underneath my mind. what are they saying? What am I saying? What does it mean? As I stare blankly into their eyes. How much time has passed, hours? minutes? days? No seconds it's only been a few seconds since they've realized I'm not listening. I'm focused on the pounding in my chest wondering if anyone else can hear it. Place your hand on my heart I swear you'll feel it. But it's fine you say it's at a normal pace. But that's the problem.. normal pace is too much for me to handle. So I lay my head down to sleep for the fifth time today because my thoughts calm when there isn't anything to decrypt.

Sort:  

Beautiful writing. My anxiety rings in my ears and roars in my head. My body feels like it is in free fall.

It's insanely interesting how anxiety is something that affects everything so differently. Anxiety can keep me away from goals for days. But hopefully I'll learn to move past it (:

For me it comes in stages...which pass. I have learnt to keep that in mind when I go through an anxious phase. Your description was really good.

Definitely some days are harder than others, I try to keep the phases in mind but sometimes thatvsilly anxiety is all you think about and you get wrapped up in it. thank you onetree!

I know. Possibly it gets easier to handle as you get older?

I've had OCD my whole life but I actually started experiencing anxiety roughly 5 years ago. Definitely with time you know what kinda throws you into a panic attack and what doesn't. Slowly learning how to go into stores alone and whatnot

Even a minute improvement is an improvement. Most important is not to beat yourself up about how you feel, it is not your fault. And appreciate the non-anxious times fully!

Well done! You say you aren't much of a writer but the imagery and cadence here is poetic justice.

Yeah I dunno haha

Congratulations @tinysoul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I liked it, had the cadence of poetry and a good flow to it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41