Family, Farm, and Me Time

in #blog6 years ago

20180518_154306.jpg
Flowering Crabapple tree outside my mom's barn next door

I find that balancing everything in our lives, especially during Fall, can be a hectic thing to try much less succeed at. We have three children who do online public school (I'm their 'Learning Coach'), a hobby farm (with meat rabbits and lots of chickens), and my hubbie and I work. He bids on IT jobs like credit card machine installations, register installs, security camera installs, and... well.. you get the idea. He may not have regular work, but he also does snowplowing and lawn care for their respective season. I work my two weekend days to keep a regular income while helping the children learn during the week.
20180507_153629.jpg
Our greenhouse next to our field after I made the raised beds inside

People say I need more 'ME' time. What's 'ME' time? It's like they're speaking a foreign language I am not familiar with. I spend quality time with my children during the week. I know what they're learning. What they're struggling with. What I need to help them learn. We paint together for art class, look up famous people from history (since two pages of info is never enough for my history interested children), and play outside looking for sticks, rocks, and soil in the name of science. They love to rake the leaves simply to jump in them before I take them off to the compost pile. I love to chase after them just to listen to that high pitched squeal/giggle that is addicting to listen to. Who needs this 'ME' time they speak of.
20180420_125239.jpg
My youngest's first time holding a bunny rabbit, look at that smile!

Instead of buying a new part, my hubbie goes to the salvage yard when he can. He can fix everything from the tractor and it's equipment to the computer I have somehow got infected again. It's become a line around here... 'Honey I broke it...can you fix it?' and he'll look at me with that knowing smirk while he shakes his head. He may not say it...but he can and he will no matter how frustrated I make him by asking the same questions over and over again WHILE he's fixing it. I am a bit forgetful at times...but who these days aren't when they have three small demons...er....children of joy running around? Who needs this 'ME' time when I can spend it with my hubbie talking about tractor parts I'll never remember and what the cats...er...I mean bunnies did that day when he went to feed them?
20180607_140324.jpg
Baby bunny rabbits my hubbie spoils

Our Spring, Summer, and Fall may be filled with garden work, structure building, fence mending, and harvesting... but my children know they are loved and their work appreciated. Winter is filled with learning and more time together baking. My youngest loves to help me in the garden to get his mommy time, my oldest loves to count the pumpkins when we harvest them, and my middle child loves helping when it comes time for flowers and other 'pretties'. I may not have much 'ME' time... but I wouldn't trade the time I've been having with my family for anything.
20180726_151302.jpg
Easter Egger hen with her baby

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63