What Got Me Through My Hard Times

in #blog6 years ago

On my last post, I wrote about why God is good despite our circumstances in life, despite our hardships. You can read all about it by clicking on this link.

I've gone through some hardships in my own life where I clearly felt God's presence as He comforted and strengthened me, and gave me hope and peace that surpassed all understanding.[Phil 4:7]

9-hard-times.jpg

One of these terrible periods was when I lost my first two sons. I had a miscarriage at the end of the first trimester of my very first pregnancy. That was very hard because I thought that I was the only one going through this because that's not a topic people usually discuss. The second time was harder for my husband and me. I went through hours and hours of labor and pushed and pushed, only to find out that our baby boy passed away hours prior. It was very hard for us and our immediate family members.

What got us through these hard times was solely reading and meditating on scriptures. God's Word is SO powerful. Although we stayed in the Word, our two go-to passages at the time were:

But He knows the way that I take; when He has tested me, I shall come forth as gold.
Job 23: 10 <<-- (This has become our life verse)

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.
2 Corinthians 1: 3-4

faith-is-seeing.jpg

We realized that God was ultimately in control of our lives, and we also knew that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose [Romans 8: 28]. Because of these tragedies, I now can relate to another woman who has lost a child. For this reason, God has used me to minister, pray and encourage others in the same situation. Sometimes all we need to know is that we're not the only ones going through our hardship. Others have been there, and God has carried them through it. So He will do the same for me.

How have you felt God's presence in your life when you were going through a tough time?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24