How to find activities for old people๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

in #blog โ€ข 6 years ago

So today, I went online to look for fun activities ๐Ÿ™Œ that senior citizens can use to pass the time and these are the things I saw...

Picnics, Fishing, Treasure hunts, Gardening, Outings to parks and other places of interest, Painting, Drawing, Sewing, Knitting, Crocheting, Photography, Scrapbooking, Making greeting cards, Sponge painting stationary, Woodworking projects such as building birdhouses or making clocks, Making foam magnets, Flower arranging, etc

Funny thing though is that I can't suggest any of these stuff to any of my grandparents ๐Ÿ˜Ÿwho are all alive and currently at my house for a visiting/recuperation phase. They all just seemed a little bit weird. Maybe because of where I come from or maybe not. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

How would you shape your mouth to ask your Nigerian grandma if she'd like to paint or go treasure hunting? ๐Ÿ˜ฑ Or better yet, try to imagine her posing with a camera hanging from her neck. ๐Ÿ˜ If you've done it before, do holla at your girl so I can take some advice. Like they always say, it's he who has done it that probably knows how to do it better. ๐Ÿ˜

Brief history about them. My dad's parents we refer to as mama and Papa and my mums parents are grandma and grandpa. This distinction was clearly made when we were kids and it stuck till date. They are all healthy and active but surely set in their ways I should think.

Screenshot_20180415-192240.png
Grandpa and grandma with my adorable sisters. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Back to the subject matter, I'm still at a loss on what to get them to do. The women were both teachers so I don't necessarily see how knitting or building bird houses๐Ÿ˜“ would work for them. Thankfully grandma has a good hobby.... Shelling egusi. If you know, you know. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜So less trouble for me. Grandpa on the other hand, I know next to nothing about him. He's a neat freak and he likes to clean. But I can't generally just give him a broom to keep him busy. Not cool.

On the other hand, mama and Papa, well I could have given them a book each but there's that matter of eyesight. I can't make them play outside either. That would be just wack. Besides I've forgotten all the cool outdoor games games. ๐Ÿ˜’ Basically, I'm back to square 1.๐Ÿ˜ž

At this point, I sha give up. There really is nothing I can do. I guess they'll just have to stay bored. ๐Ÿ˜ข Their children are there for them.

PS. someone truly needs to add watching walls to that ridiculous list or better yet, counting ants. These activities have served me personally many a time.

Alright people. Thanks for your no help on this one and for reading too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ y'all are the best. Much love this Sunday. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ Have a wonderful week. ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

Sort: ย 

They can watch the old people's channel on tv๐Ÿ˜‚ or tell stories or write stories. I bet there's much to do

There's an old people's channel๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑwow. You truly learn everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62