DAY 1 Antarctic Diaries M/V Island Sky

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

We are off to the Antarctic Peninsula. My happy place! The coldest, driest, windiest continent on the planet. However, we have only left Ushuaia late last night and we are currently in the Drake Passage ~ about half way and still have a whole day tomorrow at sea.


This morning I woke up at 630am and was on the observation deck with my binoculars, camera and my ear buds. I was blasting Bob Marley, no women no cry & simply loving life. At that point the wind was at 10knts and the seas were less than a meter - a perfect morning! I was lucky enough to see one whale from about a mile away. Well, I saw it blow twice and then never again - I have no idea what species of whale it was BUT still incredibly stoked to see my first one already before even crossing the Polar Front.


IMG_5626.jpg

My morning view from the observation deck on the M/V Island Sky.
Click image to view full size.


The weather as of now, as I post this at almost midnight is actually pretty good - the wind is around 20-25knts and the seas are only a few meters in height, which for the Drake is below average. The days that we cross the Drake are known as ”sea days” and this is the time that presenters (like myself) give lectures about various topics in Antarctica. My lecture/presentation today is ”Whales of the Southern Ocean ~ An introduction”


Other presenters have speciality backgrounds in Ornithology, History, Glaciology and Geology. Of course in Marine Biology, which is my position on this ship for the next few expeditions.


After presenting my amazing and informative lecture to the guests I made my way back to the bridge. This is practically where I live whilst on the ship. My role is to find as many different marine mammal species, especially whales as possible. They can appear at any time and some encounters last only a matter of mere seconds… unfortunately. However, that does not deter me from doing the absolute best I can. I did not sight anything other than the distant blow from a whale at 7am this morning...


Today lots and lots of albatross! It was amazing to watch these amazing animals glide over the seas and past the ship over and over again. This evening we plan on crossing the Antarctic convergence or Polar front, which means tomorrow is going to fun. I shall be explaining why tomorrow on Day 2 Antarctic Diaries M/V Island Sky!


IMG_5859.jpg

An Albatross with a 3.5m wingspan gliding around the ship at sunrise. No big deal... :D
Click image to view full size.*


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

Got any questions for me whilst I am working away down in Antarctica??? Feel free to leave some in the comments below and I shall do my best to get to them as soon as I have reliable internet service!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Brother, your whale photography is stunning! I love it!

very interesting post, I see the program where people talk about this place. It is a beautiful and mysterious place at the same time. It attracts the attention of scientists and tourists and divers. There is a big blue hole in one of the most beautiful places on earth. beautiful birds, very nice photography life ..

Wow!,your picture take me there..

beautifull photography dear

Looks peaceful out in the middle of nowhere

Antarctica has this mythic weight. It resides in the collective unconscious of so many people, and it makes this huge impact, just like outer space. It's like going to the moon.

It honestly feels like you are on another planet when you are here!

Lovely picture

Can feel your joy in this post. Enjoy the albatross!

Sibling, your whale photography is dazzling! I cherish it! extremely fascinating post, I see the program where individuals discuss this place. It is an excellent and strange place in the meantime. It draws in the consideration of researchers and voyagers and jumpers. There is a major blue opening in a standout amongst the most delightful places on earth. delightful winged creatures, exceptionally pleasant photography life ..

What an adventure! I’m jealous. How long do you plan to be out there? Are you on a scientific expedition?

I am on an expedition with a company called Quark Expeditions, where I am working as a Marine Biologist and Guide. I will be down here this time around for 16 days

Travelling to Antarctica is on my bucket list. That will require some saving up for. Have a great time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66011.09
ETH 3480.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17