How I Escaped The Cubicle Life

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

3356c617-0314-4045-924f-2105f9a1d7a3-min.jpg

The transformation from a corporate life to a free life is priceless, and the shift from illusion to happiness is mind-blowing. One moment I was running the hamster-wheel office life, the next I was in full control over my time and finances. I already showed my friends how I did it, and now it’s time to share it with everyone. So here it is, the story of how I escaped the cubicle life.

The cubicle dream…

Till a couple of years ago, I had jobs in several areas, ranging from telecom corporations to trading giants. My life was entering the “normal” pattern: school-job-marriage-kids and so on.

Working round the clock became my only hobby. Exaggerated fatigue was my normal state. I even moved abroad, away from family and friends, for a better paycheck. I ran a systematic “nine to five” schedule for almost a decade (“nine to five” means “eight to eight” in corporate terms…)

rsz_p1061084-min.jpg

I thought I was living the cubicle dream…the dream that painted the illusion that I had it all.

Until it happened! Questions started to flood my mind like crazy…

Is the world such a boring place that we need to run a robotic life?
Are we all meant to take the “normal” life pattern?
What else do I really have to offer besides my time? Isn’t something better I can do with it?!…
I realized how seldom I saw my family and friends and that I was spending only a couple of hours a day with my girlfriend.

The wake-up call…

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people just exist.” O. Wilde

It all started when my girlfriend Alina and I went on a 2-week vacation to Indonesia. The words of that Balinese guy still ring crystal-clear in my ears: “I don’t understand you, Westerners. Each year, you spend 11 months of your time working, so that you can afford a couple of weeks in countries like Indonesia. Why are you keep doing this?!”.

At first, I didn’t pay much attention to these words but soon after I began to realize that the guy was absolutely right. Why am I doing this?!
rsz_raducu_in_funchal-min.jpg

Soon after arriving back home, we realized that we have more important things to do: my girlfriend is passionate about design, and I love football. We both love traveling, winter sports and photography. I needed to act! I had to come up with a plan to escape the cubicle! Even if my studies were not IT related, I knew that online world was my best chance. I started to research and quickly understood that Blog-Marketing was the…

…Get Out Of Cubicle card

“It is far better for a man to go wrong in freedom than to go right in chains.” T.Huxley

I still hear myself: “You’re not a technical guy, genius, how exactly do you plan to build a blog?!”. Well, that’s exactly why WordPress exists. To me, it’s the perfect blog building platform – it’s free and it’s damn easy to use! If I could do it, you can do it as well, absolutely no IT background is needed!

After I’ve invested some time in few learning tutorials and a couple of good online marketing reads, I’ve managed to sketch a successful Blog-Marketing business model.

Let’s assume you start a blog in the photography niche. In a nutshell, here’s what you need to do:

Write a good article on photography. If writing is not your cup of tea, outsource the writing process.
Place a couple of Facebook ads in front of photography enthusiasts. When users click your ads, they will be directed to your blog. Between 10-20% of the photography enthusiasts who click your ads will become your customers.

Sell them a photography related product (eg. lens). Now comes the best part: you don’t need to pre-buy or stock any products. When customers click the “Pay” button, two things happen simultaneously: you will get your money in your account AND the order will be sent do the drop-shipper, who will send the product directly to your customer. You don’t even get to see the product. Awesome, it’s it?

As your followers base grows, use affiliates to make money continuously. The likes of Amazon Affiliates are ready to pay you fat commissions when people directed from your blog buy their products. You will also sell ads space on your blog to monetize even further.

For me, this blueprint worked wonders. Within the first week, the above process brought my first $2000 non-corporate dollars. At first, I just couldn’t believe it, but each day that I was checking my PayPal balance brought me closer to my “Get Out Of Cubicle” card. With extra effort and learning, I was able to improve my marketing and monetizing techniques and generate even better results.

Do it! Start changing your life

“You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.” Z. Ziglar

So often we stick to our job only because it’s comfortable. I’m shouting out loud: DO NOT SETTLE! Do what you love and makes you feel alive!

I made it my mission to help others to become independent and to be able to finance their freedom. In my opinion, blogging is both the simplest and most effective way to attain a free lifestyle. But for most of us, the problem is that we have no idea where to start! When I began my journey, I would have killed to get advice from someone who had already achieved my goals. Now, I would like to be that someone for you.

You can find out in detail how I set up my powerful Blogging businesses by accessing my free Unchained Seminar – Blogging Your Way To Financial Freedom

Finally, if you have any questions feel free to drop them in the comments section below and I will be happy to pick them up once I find an internet connection.

Sort:  

Congratulations @theresignee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @theresignee! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @theresignee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44