Food for thought

in #blog7 years ago

How would you explain the emotion/act of missing someone?

I've recently been into this show 'The Good Doctor'.. a show about a Dr with autism, it mainly focuses on the social impact that autism would have on this individuals career as a Dr..
A quote( without giving out any spoilers), that has stuck with me...
"How can I miss them? They're dead."
It got me thinking about how you could explain the emotion or act of missing someone.
I miss alot of people, I've lost people.
Cancer, drunk driving accidents, old age...death, is something I am no stranger to.
I can admit that i miss these people that are no longer on this earth..
i miss all the time we spent together.
all the memories we made together.
But its the people that are still alive that i miss the most.
I miss baking cookies with my great aunt Lolly, we only really talk if there is a family emergency.
I miss my cousin April, we used to be inseparable..now she has a little family and I barely know them or her for that matter, I miss our sleep overs, being able to talk to her about anything...we talk about once a month now, if im lucky..
I miss my best friend, Jason lived across the street from me, he was my first friend (outside of family members) , I miss our adventures..even when they ended with us getting in trouble.. Time is not on our side as adults.. we lost touch and now it seems we dont really have time to be friends.
I miss my nephews, as annoying as thought they were, i miss movie nights with them.
I miss my abusive family.. i miss the good times, the holidays where everyone pretended to be happie, we avoided arguments because "its the holidays"....

We don't just miss the dead.
We miss actions, feelings, and moments that get lost in time.
Memories.

thoughts?? comments??

Sort:  

Hi! Your post has been selected by @NanoCheeZe to be upvoted by @XTDevelopment ... Don't forget to check us out - NanoCheeZe.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38