To the bone

in #blog7 years ago

So, I've seen tons of people talking about this. Tons of articles, videos on youtube and so on. So of course I have to come with my own post, about this, because I can and I will. To the bone is a movie on Netflix, it was just launched. Right after 13 reasons why, which meant that lots of people would think it would be like that movie. The movie is about a girl suffering from an eating disorder, and it shows her struggle to recover.

What kind of annoys me, is some of the people watching it. From my point of view, it is not a movie about glamourizing an eating disorder. They also show different types of eating disorders in the movie. Yes, most of the focus is on the main character, Ellen, but we get to see different people and different struggles. I've struggled, I get easily triggered by movies. My mom even asked me if the movie triggered me to do things. It didn't. It's such a powerful movie that shows how hardt it is to recover from an eating disorder. Disclaimer; I've never been signed to have one, but I have struggled a lot with food and training.


This is the trailer to the movie. I'm guessing most of the negative response is from this trailer, because it shows most of the things. But most of what you see in the trailer isn't that displayed in the movie. It's not about her weight or body, yes her body is shown maybe two times threw out the entire movie. The konsept about this movie is NOT about glamourizing, it's about recovering.

We need to assume that EVERY movie about a disorder is glamourizing, many movies can help. Yes, some can be triggering to people. BUT - they put up warnings before the movie even starts, so if you still watch it and get triggered you can't say you didn't get warned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57