The Sun: It's Good For You, Until It Burns

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2653 (1).jpg

Where did everyone go?

Another empty sidewalk, another deserted street. What happened?

IMG_2648.jpg

Another sunny day shining down upon an abandoned neighborhood-- paved to perfection-- and not a soul in sight.

Something terrible must have happened here.

Of course, many of us know what happened to neighborhoods like this one, and indeed there is a reason that a sunny day such as this one is being avoided; the inhabitants of this brightly lit world have been taught to fear the sun itself.

We are told not to look at the sun, but for just a second, let’s take a glance at it, and have a look at the popular understandings of what the sun might do for our health, or what it may do to harm us.

Formerly, In Science:

Remember when they used to say that sunlight was healthy? ”You need to get some sun!” ...they used to say.

Scientists used to say that our bodies create something called 'vitamin D' when we were exposed to sunlight.

It was said that one of the functions of this vitamin D was to help prevent cancer in the body.

Given this data, we might easily have been able to do the math, and logically we could say that through our body’s natural biochemical reactions to this light, sunlight could help to prevent cancer.

Winter Depression

Aside from a deficit of vitamin D, there are also certain seasonal effects on human psychopathology that can be attributed to a lack of sunlight.

Mood and anxiety disorders become more frequent during the winter months, while depression and suicides also increase during these darker days of winter.

These mood changes are caused by yet another chemical reaction in the body, as serotonin levels change during the winter months, and again, this biochemistry can be shown to be related to the amount of sunlight that we are exposed to.

What Happened?

It seems that today, medical sciences have focused on chemistry within the body, but instead of pointing to the sun, today’s medical practitioners will point their patients towards the pharmaceutical industry for solutions to things like cancer and depression.

An Industry is Born

As the pharmaceutical industry gained power and influence over the practice of medicine, the focus of modern treatments went into the creation of synthetic chemical products which would basically attempt to mimic the natural effects of sunlight on the human body.

The chemical industry soon found that their main competitor was the actual sun, and in business terms, the competition needed to be eliminated.

Those potential medical patients who managed their serotonin levels using natural sunlight may have had less need for pharmaceutical solutions, and those who got their vitamin D from the sun itself could have found less need for chemical cancer treatments.

This daily competition with the sun would be bad for business if one’s business was the manufacturing of the synthetic pharmaceutical drugs which were developed not for human health, but were instead designed to make money and profit for that chemical industry.

Through marketing, mass-media and widespread campaigns of health propaganda, it didn’t take too long to persuade a population that they should fear the sunlight, or to at least cover themselves with another chemical product known as sunscreen before they venture out in the daylight.

Screen Shot 2018-03-14 at 2.45.54 PM.png

The Big Yellow Pill in the Sky- Our Sun

The mysterious placebo effect is a psychological feature which is used to persuade the mind to believe that healing has taken place, allowing the body to return to a medium balance-- it is a med icine that works within a patient’s mind.

The reverse of a placebo, a no -cebo, can do the opposite, by making a patient believe that they are going to become ill, they might actually start to feel sick.

If medicine has indeed become a business in the modern world, then it would make good business sense to get as many customers as possible, using every means available to that industry, such as psychological manipulation of the population of potential patients.

With endless marketing to make the sun more fearful, the side effects of that fear can be turned into new patients for the industry, and since anxiety and stress have their own effects on human health, new pills can be tested for that on a now-willing population, a population of people who have been told that the very sun in the sky is killing them.

IMG_2653.jpg

LIGHT: 'It's Good For You, Until It Burns'

Our sun gives life to all living things on Earth, and we humans can easily live on the planet with the sun shining overhead if we simply remember the truth about light; it’s good for you, until it burns.

Many people claim that the sun is getting brighter, hotter, and has gradually changed color in recent years. It is possible that it’s rays have become stronger, and quicker to burn the skin. Our sun seems to be gaining strength. Like a deity, it's presence is demanding to be noticed every day.

An Industry Trying to Be a God

If the sun were a deity, a god in the sky, then the medical industry hopes to mimic those godlike qualities with it’s chemistry, and even hopes to shine brighter than the sun in it’s ability to penetrate the minds and beliefs of an entire population of creators.

The formula is simple enough, and can be seen as a problem, reaction, solution dialectic, and can perhaps be written out:

  • THESIS: ‘The sun is dangerous, unhealthy, and bad for the economy.’

  • ANTITHESIS: Widespread Fear.

  • SYNTHESIS: Avoidance of the sun’s mood-elevating, cancer-fighting therapeutic rays, and instead using pharmaceutical antidepressant solutions to the ensuing depression-- radiological and chemical cancer solutions for the now-unchecked cancers, plus plenty of sunscreen for everyone.

IMG_2660.jpg

This Is Not Medical Advice

The medical scientists of today seem to have other things on their minds besides sunlight, and sunlight is no longer popularly spoken of as a tool for healing. The sidewalks are now abandoned, and there are no children playing nearby.

This is not to be taken as advice on health, well-being or happiness, but is just me noticing another empty sidewalk on a sunny day in a perfectly good neighborhood, and wondering if we could turn the sun back into a placebo if we all believed that it was good for us again, wondering if our collective belief in a thing is strong enough to make it into reality.


all photos above are mine, 2017, taken in a nearby abandoned subdivision's sidewalk. To help turn the sun back into a healing device, resteem. For more variety and entertainment, please dare to click below:

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

Resteemed. I love the sun, despite burning easily due to my light complexion. I was always given to depression since a child during winter (not the same kind of depression the safe space babies are always on about).

I remember entering high school. My dad had just moved us from cloudy Indiana to Arizona. I had an acne problem when we moved, and within months of the hot bright sunlight it all cleared up. Quick as that.

I don't trust doctors for the most part any more. I have taken to calling them pharmaceutical pimps. They want to give you pills or operate. They seem to know little about health these days, just aiming people down the road of pills that lead to more pills and more pills till you are no longer recognizable to your loved ones anymore.

I also think they implemented this as part of their plan to destroy communities. They got the fathers out of many of the homes, and then the next step was to get the kids inside and on their technology. Nothing better for brainwashing the obese zombie kids who they are convincing single moms in large numbers to drug. I have been saying also for years that they have turned doctors into the new priests for many single moms. Of course the answer for why the kids are out of control couldn't be from all the energy they no longer burn outside, not because dad isn't in the home to throw the law down. Nope, it's because the little tykes need some pills, that will solve everything. I mean, isn't society so much better now than when we were kids?

nope, it's because the little tykes need some pills, that will solve everything.

'Pharma pimps' is perhaps too kind, though it's true that they have taken on the air of a priesthood, along with all of science, and the religion is so ingrained into society that it's practically become blasphemous to question a doctor's sales pitch, and is even getting more and more illegal to do so.
Breaking apart strong families is a big part of managing a group of slaves, and probably is being done just as you described with the introduction and prescription of psycho-meds for every man, woman and her child.

Moderation is this quint little town that more people should stop in.

(I just go there to drink!)

Moderate temperatures, partly-cloudy skies, and a half-pint at mid-day sort of town.

Indeed it is!

Nature have the every healing power of our difficulties.The sun is the main power house of the universe,it provide us not only light and heat but also every thing,without it our possibility of existence is zero.With the uneven distribution of heat on earth ,the pressure balts are created,which created air,water etc which are most essential for our survival.So ,sun is the god of our existance.Your post take me to the highest level,thanks friend you are always awesome in your work.Hope you had download the app.

It is no surprise that cultures have worshipped the sun like a god, as you say without it we cannot exist here. Jay, my phone is very old, it doesn't know how to download apps. I will upgrade the device some day, but for now I communicate here with my friends around the world.

Ah! I fall into the advertising trap then.
Sun is my enemy.
I avoid sun like cancer.
I am very pale and I dislike when I become red like a lobster.
Plus, I have cases of skin cancer in my family, so I just rather avoid sun, than wear sun cream protection (so sticky!).
I have insomnia problems and I suffer of anxiety, so I take melatonin every once in a while and it works great ;)
Can you convince me to take more sun? I do try to take it when I ride my scooter around town, but that is about it.
I am a vampire. I love nightlight and I am a new person when the sun goes down.
My eyes are photophobic. I see better in the darkness.
Do I need to continue????
:D

I would rather hear that you avoid the sun, instead of using sun lotion or sun blocking chemicals, sticky or not. I believe that if we don't hate or fear the sun, but respect it and live with it gracefully, we will be fine. You'll be fine. That Cambodian sun is probably brutal anyway, I expect it is hot there.

Wow! There's a blind spot. That the Sun and Vitamin D could be such a cure all! (My post function here on Steemit is gone). So until that changes, I won't be writing for awhile. But maybe that's a good thing, getting me to focus inward, or not get distracted by my need to write. Speaking of the Sun.

In the top right, that little pencil inside the circle, where it used to say "POST", that button changed recently, could that be what you mean?

Whew. Yep, that's it. Thanks.

Now it won't let me upvote your reply here.

maybe when the sun is very hot people do not come out, they just pick at home only.

Could be, that does keep people inside when it's hot.

You are 100% correct. When I'm feeling blue I usually go outside and take a walk. The Sun, the fresh air, the trees, the wind..... it's all the kind of stuff that heals us.

Trying to get our fix from the pharmaceutical companies is almost somehow against nature.

Yes I've always used nature to heal any stress, it feels like the obvious place to be, unless it's freezing out I guess.

Pharma does seem to go against nature, even though I'm sure they use all-natural ingredients in those chemicals.

I remember my mom was always saying things like "go out and get some sun! It will do you good!"

Now, I happen to have very fair "northern" skin, so there was always a limit to that, and because I'm not fond of getting to look like a freshly cooked lobster, I don't spend a lot of time in the sun.

That aside, we do seem to live in a world that increasingly "medicalizes" our normal daily actions. Here, you are covering the sun, and our "manufactured" fears of it. Similar things happening in the mental health industry where feelings and emotions previously considered *"part of the normal spectrum of human experience" are being turned into "syndromes" we supposedly need "treatment" for.

I can't help but think we are stunting our own evolution here when things like "being extremely creative" have become a mental illness. Mozart would have been drugged into oblivion...

I used to get the same treatment, but I usually had no problem going outside anyway.

Yeah I've had some brutal encounters with the sun, and have some damage here and there from some bad sunburns of the past. These days I'm often covered in sleeves, hat and even gloves, I don't need that much light, and I don't need anymore sunburns.

I have noticed the trend towards naming human behavior of different kinds 'syndromes' and disorders. Then of course there's a disorder for those who notice such things and question authority; Oppositional Defiance Disorder, or ODD. There's a pill for that.

As someone who hates both light and heat, I and the Sun have come to an understanding. It hates me, and I hate it. Winter is my favourite season, because typically I can get to work before it comes up, and it's down before I go home. Those are the happiest days of my life.

I have heard sunlight is good for depression. Maybe I'll try it again one day.

It has taken me my whole life to learn to appreciate things about winter, I was always a summer being for some reason. I decided that hating 6 months out of each year added up to at least half of my entire life, and those numbers were unacceptable when I did the math.

I recently read that it's the drying of skin that causes our skin severe damage, dryness which is exacerbated by the chemicals we put on our skin to protect us. It kind of goes along with my theory, that if we are all in balance, we don't really get sick.

That makes complete sense really, we being mostly water already. I've personally found that a diet of lots of green vegetables will prime the skin for the sunlight, like eating light to strengthen an immunity to it.

Since we've started cooking, I may actually feel compelled to stop flirting with vegetarianism and actually make the jump. Trying not to force myself and let it happen naturally and it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23