The Stable of Beggars- Professional Panhandlers Testing Our Empathy?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

The homeless people in my area seem to be facing a new problem, as if living on the street didn’t offer enough troubles already.


Homelessness

Since I’ve had friends who have found themselves in this situation in the past, I tend to notice the people who have been forced into living on the streets, and I’ve always tried to help them if I’m able. The homeless problem has never really been ‘somebody else’s problem’ to me, and lately these unfortunate beings are becoming more visible in the town where I live.

The other day I overheard a conversation about this visibly growing homeless population on the streets in town, and I particularly noticed the conclusive statement at the beginning of the conversation: “Somebody is running a stable of beggars!” They then explained how a stable of beggars would work, and I kept on eavesdropping in amazement, as I hadn’t heard of such a thing since Charles Dickens and his Oliver Twist, and certainly wasn’t expecting to hear the 21st century middle-of-America version of this business model.

homeless.jpg

A New Twist on the Stable of Beggars

In just the last year it has become more common to see people standing at busy intersections holding a piece of cardboard with their plights abbreviated into a few words, in hopes of getting a handout from the captive audience; those drivers who are waiting at the red lights. I’ve given money to these panhandlers in the past, when I could feel their anguish from my comfortable-enough car, I thought. Now though, I was hearing something that really got my attention.

What if the person standing on that high-traffic street corner with the cardboard sign is actually working for someone else? What if their boss comes by in a car after lunchtime and picks up the beggars, takes them to McDonald’s for a 30 minute break and then sets them back on their corners for the afternoon's traffic?

Allegedly, that’s exactly what was witnessed at one of the busier intersections in town one day recently, and now it nearly boggles my imagination to envision how such an operation would work right here in Average Town, USA. I imagined nonetheless, and saw what a rare and cold mentality it would take to set up such an operation as that, where this shady business owner takes advantage of people who are out of luck by offering them a chance to earn some money and get a free lunch, while then completely taking advantage of the kind, giving hearts and trusting spirits of unsuspecting motorists all day long.

homeless2.png

Who Needs Help In The World

There’s a part of me that can’t believe that this is really going on here, and the logistics of how such an operation would even work are probably beyond me, or at least beyond where I care to venture. The main thing that I noticed when I heard this story though, is that this sort of Panhandlers Inc. won’t help the people who really need it. This may raise the question, who really needs help? We all do.

My trouble is, that if I see one person suffering in the world, then I suffer. Nature designed us to feel this empathy, it’s a common part of human nature, and with the exception of a few psychopaths, we all have this nagging empathy, and it won’t go away. We were designed this way, it’s one of our superpowers.

In using this empathy, we can see what bravery and desperation it would take to stand on the side of a busy, affluent intersection asking for money, and we can surely see what a potent spell the dollar has cast over us all. Without the dollar’s filter in place, we are able to see that these beings that have been labeled homeless, beggars and bums are actually us-- when seen from Earth, and when addressed on a soul level; that is me standing there in spirit, daring each motorist to examine themselves, to get their own Sharpie marker, their own piece of cardboard, and then stand in front of a mirror for a few minutes.

The story of the professional beggars, if true, must describe a rare type of person who could dream up such a business, and while I don't want to be tricked or cheated, the tale won’t deter me from helping people when they need it. I will still offer a hand at the risk being pulled in, and yet I'll know when it’s time to withdraw my trust. I work with a formula that I was taught long ago:

It is better to trust strangers and risk being occasionally cheated, than to live a life of constant suspicion, and then still get cheated on occasion.

We Can’t Do This Alone

There are countless reasons and situations that can cast a person onto the pavement, and whether it’s a complete surprise, a tragedy or just a run of bad luck, it can happen to anyone. Sometimes the dingiest clothes house the brightest souls, and we are all learning more about the control that a centralized money supply has had over our minds and our societies for such a long time, so that our imaginations will include everyone, even the ones who are showing us these things as they stand with their mirrors on the roadside.

Be they actors dressed as bums, or bums teaching us how to act towards each other, we can’t do this ‘better world’ thing without them, and they remind us that we are all humans, which doesn’t cost us anything, and is probably the best place to start.


thanks for reading along, all artwork above is by me, 2017, ballpoint pen, color pencil, and then some digital alterations


@therealpaul

Sort:  

I see pan-handlers alot all over North West Arkansas where I live and work. I drive for a living so I can easily tack on over 200 miles in a day in just a 5 city metro area. I see the same people day in and day out. I rarely if ever have cash on me so I am if no help to them. One day my boss was riding along and he pointed out a certain beggar. He said "You see that guy? You see that red car in the Denny's parking lot? That is his car. I've seen him get in it and drive away after begging on the corner. You watch, every time you see him you will see that red Pontiac Grand Am." Sure enough he was right. Every time I saw that guy, there was his Pontiac Grand Am. It really struck a nerve with me. Here's a guy begging for money driving around a LOT nice car than me, a guy putting in 60 hours a week hauling garbage. This abuse of people's empathy turns me off from ever wanting to give any of them cash.

I am also reminded of the commands God gave in the Torah, that in a society set up and governed by the Torah, the poor are provided for and taken care of.

‘And when you reap the harvest of your land do not completely reap the corners of your field when you reap, and do not gather any gleaning from your harvest. Leave them for the poor and for the stranger. I am יהוה your Elohim.’ ”
Wayyiqra (Leviticus) 23:22 TS2009

“And for six years you are to sow your land, and shall gather its increase, but the seventh year you are to let it rest, and shall leave it, and the poor of your people shall eat. And what they leave, the beasts of the field eat. Do the same with your vineyard and your oliveyard.
Shemoth (Exodus) 23:10‭-‬11 TS2009

That is just 2 that I can think of. I know there are many more. Imagine how much further along we would be as society if we actually lived the way God instructed us to.

This is exactly where I was writing this article from, near the Fayetteville/Walmart megalopolis-- we must pass now and then on the road around these hills! I wonder how many of the recent curbside panhandlers are just taking advantage of people's good nature around here.

Those were some beautiful quotes from the Torah, thanks for sharing those, they deserve much thought.

The wife and I were at that very Walmart (well mall Ave, not MLK) earlier getting groceries for the week. There has been a definite increase in the last 2 years. You see them from Fayetteville all the way up to Bentonville at almost every exit ramp.

Yeah in fact it was on one of those exit ramps where I gave a guy 2 bucks last summer, but I definitely have noticed the increase lately. Well, with Tyson as the world's largest meat producer, and Walmart such a monstrous worldwide beast, they are going to attract people to the area. All those 'top 5 best places to live in the US' articles shared on Facebook didn't help things either!

Hi friend good morning, as it's morning here. Very nice post. There is a real story happened with me with a begger. It is almost 20years before when I was an university students, I had to come to home. For the purpose I was in a bustop, I saw a begger a little girl, I gave her one rs 10,you know friend seeing this I don't know from where lots of beggers .They wanted money from me, even they wanted to pull my dress too. Any I could managed the situation. So I think, they have organisation ,they even robbed you. But though some are unfortunate. Thanks for the reply, you don't want to look my post and make any comments. You are a singer, you know I love singing persons.Wish you all the best.

I know that there are less fortunate people in the world than what I have grown up with, I'm sad to think about children begging for money in India. In this area where I live, people having to beg is new, starting in only the last few years. I saw beggars often when I lived in New York City, but this town is a long way from the city, this area has never seen this before now, and it is hardly publicized.

I saw your posts tonight, I'm sorry that I'm just getting time to visit. Have a lovely day!

Thanks, and also most welcome my dear friend. Have an wonderful time.

Things like that are always around, you won't believe how deep these rabbit holes go best one can do is look away and carry on with their own business as these routes leads to endless pits coming from nowhere and going to nowhere.

I don't think I want to meet the person who dug this rabbit hole, that's for sure.

Though I have heard that people make a business out of begging, I didn't realize it was an operation. Now that you mention it, there's a couple of episodes from the show Shameless that is dedicated to this very thing, where Frank (the father of the children whose lives comprise the show) is a degenerate alcoholic, drug addict, etc. who is also intelligent and finds all kinds of ways to scam the system. Including taking over a house that's for sale and turning it into a homeless shelter, where he then 'employs' these people to beg, giving them corners to work, then taking the money at the end of the day to 'use for the betterment of the entire household' where he pockets a percentage.

Yep this thing has Frank all over it-- probably a hotel room nearby full o bums with a Frank-like character running the show.

Have you watched the show or was that from my description? lol!

Yeah I watched probably the whole first season, I know Frank too well!

I read an article by a guy who tried standing on a corner with a sign to see what it was like to beg for money. He stood there all day and made $30. I don't know if even twice that much would be lucrative enough to benefit someone who could get a minimum wage job instead.

Maybe the beggar in the comments with the Grand Am had a great life once, but now all he has left is the car he lives in. I can think of a lot of reasons why someone with a messed up life would stand outside all day for $30, but it's hard to consider that a good option for a well-functioning person.

Maybe I'm wrong, and he's out there trying to buy new rims for his car. But if he wants them bad enough to stand outside day after day collecting change, I'm happy to throw some money into the pot to help him. :-)

It always looked like a harder job than I would be willing to do, to stand there looking forlorn all day for money. I did consider playing my tabla drums in the NY subway for tips, but could never bring myself to do that either, eventually getting an actual job.

@therealpaul,
Respect the way you think! Yes, it can happen to anyone! But very few of people try to help them truly! A big social problem you have discussed in a great way! Be a homeless man... yeah I won't think about it :/ And yeah I don't know the pain of them :/ But I wish we can do something!
Really appreciate your effort and thank you very much for sharing with us!

Cheers~

I'm not surprised at all. In my country, the begging industry is run mostly by Gypsies. Fortunately, they've moved most of their business to Western Europe. When I was little, kids were told to stay away from strangers because the Gypsies could kidnap them, break their legs and have them beg on street corners. I don't think it was a common occurrence, but still.
These days they do 'export' handicapped people or old people and have them beg in the streets of London or Paris. Recently, I've read in the news that they've made it as far as the US.

As much as I'm oozing empathy, beggars like this is something of an epidemic that has plagued my country for quite some time now. Heck, I've even dedicated a future koan for this. I'll make sure to link back to this post when I get to it, though it might be for a while.

I've dug into this a bit deeper, and I'm sad to report that this phenomena does indeed exist. Here, syndicates hire disabled people or street urchins, or worse, kidnap kids and use them as beggars. It's quite easy to spot them nowadays, that's why people have been advised to give food instead of money. I have seen these beggars firsthand, refusing the food and asking demanding, quite violently, that they'd be given money instead. It's like robbery by using sympathy.

There have been reported cases that when given coins, they throw it back and demand paper bills. Pretty soon they would be demanding cryptocurrency, I'm sure.

Things have really gotten out of hand, and it has reached a point where giving alms only provides a means to enable the syndicate operation to continually run. Some beggars who aren't part of these kinds of operations feel entitled to alms as well. They look like able-bodied individuals who could easily work legitimate jobs, they're just too lazy or feel like they're owed their due.

When I was writing this I was describing a thing that is relatively new to this part of the world, and I was also aware that my definition of 'beggar' from this little Mayberry RFD town's perspective was very first-world, and that most of the world has been seeing worse than this for a long time. My friend @maya7 is in India where there are children begging, and she has experienced these children tugging her dress in the city, so my version of a bum is I suppose the new American version. I would say that it's probably a good time for the sheltered minds of this mid-western region of the USA to wake up to what the world is really like right now, the guy standing on the corner may be the canary in this gold mine, but then, maybe we are all canaries here!
I'm right in the middle of the US, and this ain't New York City! There were plenty of bums there in '05, and I wasn't surprised-- I could never understand how anybody could survive the city with rent so high and all, I was always a day or two away from living in Central Park myself when I was there.

Children tugging dresses is a common sight here as well. No worries about how the perspective looks. Every country has its different shade, brother. Some bums are in a better standing than others, so it's hard to compare them. I've read about bums there who are vets that suffer from PTSD and are unable to carry a decent employment, so we can't generalize all of them. They simply come in different shapes and sizes.

hahahahahahahahaha.. lol

I guess I missed the joke, but you'll come back by maybe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68872.12
ETH 2524.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53