ENGLISH HUB (COMMON MISTAKES - PART #3) by mr.kobby

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

English hub.png

COMMON MISTAKES

Lets continue this previous post on common mistakes. I'm going to point out numerous grammatical mistakes we have making in our everyday writing and conversation.

The following symbols are the keys purposely provided to open your understanding to the problems.

W ---- Wrong
C ---- Correct

21. I DON'T THINK | I DON'T THINK SO

QUESTION: Is your sister in?
W: RESPONSE: I don't think
C:RESPONSE: I don't think so
NOTE: I don't think means "I do not use my brains" while, "I don't think so" means I am not of that opinion.

22. CONSIDER | AS

W: He considers me as his best friend.
C: He considers me his best friend.
NOTE: The word "consider" cannot be followed by "as", But say:
He regards me as his best friend.

23. APPOINT AS

W: They appointed him as chairman of the meeting.
C: The appointed him chairman of the meeting.
NOTE: Also behaving like appoint are elect and consider. Verbs that do have "As " in their complement include "dress" as refers to someone as "address as"

24. TOO KNOWN | TOO KNOWING

W: You are too know/known
C: You are too knowing
NOTE: People say "too know (known) " when they mean 'conceited ' , that is "full of conceit ". The word known is past participle of know.

25. BUY AT | BUY FOR

W: I can't buy this book for such a price
C: I can't buy this book at such a price.
NOTE: "at " is used if the actual sum is not mentioned.

26. IN THE TWINKLE | TWINKLING OF AN EYE

W: He arrived in the twinkle of an eye.
C: He arrived in the twinkling of an eye.
NOTE: The idiom means "in a moment " Immediately. Its correct form must be observed.

27. BORROW | LEND

W: Please borrow me your pen.
C: Please, lend me your pen.
NOTE: Borrow means 'get from'
Lend means "give to ". In other words the giver "lends" but the taker borrows

28. PUT OFF | PUT OUT

W: Please, put off the light.
C: Please, put out the light
NOTE: "Put off " means to postponed as in;
The meeting was "put off " because the members didn't form the quorum.
Say put out/switch off/turn off light For lanterns, fire or candles you can say put out/blow out, quench or extinguish.

I hope you enjoyed this section of the course and also learnt something from it. Check my blog daily for updates and new topics.


Thanks for reading!



Sort:  

You got 100.00% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74