You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/25/18> The Lost Art of … Driving Directions.

in #blog6 years ago
Congratulations on the big upvote by @curie 😀

In this part of the country, driving directions are still given frequently. I've had many folks ask me at gas stations and grocery stores how to get to some other place. Many people here seem to still have flip-phones without maps, and I think there are plenty who would rather not rely on technology so much, even if they had a smartphone in their pocket.

Sometimes, I like a challenge. So, I decided to see if I could find the barn you mentioned with only the simple clues you gave in this post. If you were at Mustang Creek BBQ (north of Louise), then I fear that the old barn is gone. I found where Mustang Creek crosses Highway-59 (south of Louise) and there is no barn there. However, that is, indeed, shown on maps as the former location of the restaurant, although it is 3.8 miles from the current location. The beautiful old barn must have been torn down. So, did I do a good sleuthing job, following the clues...?

Sort:  

Thank you on the congrats.
Yes, you are a petty darn good sleuth. Cecil is the owner, I guess his miles are tad longer than the 5,280 feet that is in the miles I use. I did stop and get a picture of the sign for the creek. I am glad you looked at it from the air and couldn't find anything either, I didn't stop by the BBQ today, there was road construction taking place on the south bound lanes right in front of his place and traffic was a mess, one lane only.
I will have have to look on Google earth myself because I talked to a customer in Vanderbilt TX about Mustang Creek BBQ and he told me the original place wasn't a big red barn but an old tin barn that would flood every few years when the creek went out of it's banks.
I noticed a locked gate with a no trespassing sign just after the bridge on the south bound side, right directly in line with the U-Turn lanes to head back north. I could barely see some silver back in there that might have been the place, but the trees and vegetation was so thick I couldn't tell from the road and I was making my u turn to head back north.
Nice detective work Tiffany. I should have thought to look myself on Google Earth before I headed back today

Thanks for the confirmation! I like doing detective work like that! I remember one guy posted a photo (on another site) one time of a street scene he shot in a nearby town, and I was able to tell him the name of the town he was in at the time, the intersection where he shot the photo, and even the time of day he was there. I think I was only 30 minutes off from the exact time (based on the length of the shadows from the sun). It was fun doing that! I'm a nerd! LOL!

To get to the spot on Google maps quickly, click here.
This former site is no longer marked in Google Maps, but it is marked in BING maps:

MustangCreekBBQ.jpg

There is one largish building, which I suspect was the restaurant at one time. The old barn may have been next to the creek, or perhaps it was near that house that's behind the largish building?

Hey, thanks for fixing the link, I tried it earlier and it didn't work but just came back to it and it did, I think you are correct on the larger building being the old restaurant, from street view and looking back behind the building and to the right of it I could see a good size barrel that appeared to be a smoker. Plus with what the other guy told me , about it being a tin building and not a red barn ,it all seems to fit now. Plus there was a bunch of cooking wood ready to be cut uo at the front of the building.
Good job.

Yes, the link was problematic at first! I saw the wood in front, too, and wondered about that. The place looks to be in a bit of disrepair as well. Didn't look at the new location in "Street View," but hope it looks better than the old place! So, will this be one of your reviews some day?

It is quite possible,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65302.82
ETH 3492.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47