You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Gorilla doesn't follow conventional wisdom...

in #blog7 years ago

Reasons I ALWAYS Use R/O Water

  • Cannabis is not a common fruit or vegetable, it is an accumulator plant. It enjoys additional pathways than the "Passive Ionic Uptake" pathway all plants use
  • It draws excessive and un-necessary elements through these additional pathways
  • It binds excess and un-needed elements directly to new growth tissue where it will not flush/fade out

Local tap water varies considerably

  • Seasonally
  • Geographically
  • pH buffering
  • Unnecessary elements for plant growth

I Grow Strictly Hydroponic

  • Cannabis is an accumulator and precisely controlling available elements grows superior quality cannabis. (Yes, 99% of hydro cannabis is garbage because the growers don't realize this)
  • Using r/o means rock-solid, predictable pH behavior
  • Moving to a new water supply doesn't require learning hydro again

You would swear my cannabis is grown organically. You'd be wrong though. The smoke is so smooth and soft, you'd swear you haven't taken a toke. The amount of exhale is always a surprise. The flavor and aroma are so strong you're chomping at the smoke (even on the last exhale) to prolong the experience. ;) Yeah, that's the kind of cannabis I'm talking about. :D

Most fruits and vegetables? Tap water all the way, as long as it's reasonably clean.

Sort:  

You raise some valid points. However, cannabis is a ***DICOT, *** which, if you are treating from a scientific aspect has certain characteristics that it follows. It's law of nature. Cannabis is not a unique plant when it comes to how it maintains a lifecycle. Yes, the are things that we can do to manipulate how the plant responds.

When working with any plant, these are the things to be considered:

What can the plant do?
What do I want the plant to do?
What can I feed or do to the plant that will get my desired outcome?

Taking all of these things into consideration, water is one part of the equation. If you are starting with RO, then you know what your baseline is and act accordingly. As you add your nutrient regime you know what your target is for that period of time of the plants lifecycle.

A great primer is the PH MANIFESTO. If you get past some of the ads there is some great information about the importance of PH. You can easily find it via Google, or you wait, you'll find a link in one of my future posts.

I imagine that you produce a fine product. I'm not questioning your skills or ability. However, I will question your methods. If you are using hydronic methods, what nutrient line are you using? What lights are you using? What is your yield per watt? What is your cost per gram?

I am not saying this is the only way to produce TOP SHELF. I am giving an alternative to conventional thought. The keys to top shelf production are:
•The Grower
•The Gentics
•The Environment
•The Process

I welcome the dialogue. Please don't be shy.

p.s. I have sold countless RO units over the last 3 years as the sales manager in the commerical division of one of the largest hydro stores in the country. I have used RO systems myself. There was not a noticable difference in product. Nobody could tell if I did or didn't use RO.

If nobody can tell the difference between using r/o and starting with .6 EC city water, your nutrient balance is off or you're overfeeding at some point.

End of story.

I see you avoided my questions. You took one part and jumped to a conclusion. It's ok. Follow along, the pictures and testing at the end will be proof.

My diplomacy is horrible, yes. The only response I made was to the important information. You talk a lot, with little to say. I read your entire post and jumped nowhere, I know exactly what I'm posting. :)

  • Nutrient source does not matter, as long as it's clean and balanced for your setup
  • Lighting does not matter, unless the spectrum is incorrect
  • Genetics? Everything comes out better than dispensary top shelf, I have yet to have a strain disappoint in the quality department, only yield/vigor
  • Environment and accumulator behavior are very important

You also completely skipped the accumulator information. Go look up Phytoremediation. (It's the reason using R/O doesn't change your quality)

You run 6 plants in a 4x4 tent with one light. Come back when you are able to do something at scale. I'm not about being a hobbist.

LOL, Cannabis doesn't care what size your setup is. You're obviously one of the growers pumping out low quality without knowing it.

Your loss for not looking at contrary information. :D

Commercial producer, after commercial producer, all saying "Look how awesome this cannabis is!" I used to grow that low quality stuff, back before someone showed me what real quality is. Completely different ball game. :D

Like you said, nobody can tell the difference when you switch to R/O. Ty. :D

You are the one who is closed minded. I am giving an alternative. I'm taking about using commercial AG products to produce top shelf cannabis. Using science and botany. Two Phd's and another grad with a degree in plant science who was the master grower at a local dispensary have been my latest mentors. Prior to that, it was a buddy who has been in the game for nearly 20 years. My lab is set up to do side by sides.

Again, jumping to conclusions. I've helped the home grower, small craft producers and large scale commerical grow ops.

Continue to waste your money on diluted water with trace elements. Take a good look at what your bottles are labeled with. Oh, the other ingredients are unknown? Glad you like the cool artwork and hype.

I welcome the open discussion. It is great to see someone as passionate about growing as I am. And you have no idea what quality I produce. You assume it is low quality. Again, another assumption. But by all means, keep it coming... I'm confident in my abilities and skills.

And yet, still no one can tell the difference in your quality when you switch to truly clean water. You're the closed minded one.

I'm talking about cannabis and quality, you keep throwing non-essential info out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47