Ephemera or random?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

knight-2611672_1920.png

The battle of decision making looms large. What should I focus on as the mainstay of my stock? Should I sell mainly ephemera or random items.

Today, I listed both, and both experiences were so different! Let's look at the main differences.

Ephemera

  1. Takes ages to sort through.
  2. Mainly low priced items
  3. Easy to store
  4. Easy to pack

Random (Today's examples were 2 vintage artists easels)

  1. Quick and easy to sort
  2. £70 per listing
  3. Hard to store, they take up a lot of space
  4. A nightmare to pack!

So you can see my dilemma. What do I do? Do I go for an easy job listing high priced items, but then have problems storing and shipping, or do I go for fiddly and time consuming items which are easy to store and a dream to ship?

My heart lies with the big things. I love large vintage items. No idea why, they just appeal to me. On the other hand, with one eye to downsizing in the future, my head lies with the small and neat to store items.

Which way am I going to jump? Well, the jury is still out. Head or heart? Maybe I can go with my heart for just a little longer before I have to decide to go with my head? I hope so.

What are your favourite items to sell? I'd love to hear from you.

Caroline

Sort:  

Im not sure if it makes sense or not but you could do fufilled by amazon, send those big items in and then you can sell those items yet keep space at home.

I always try to see if I can list on Amazon now, but I know most of your stuff seems to be the antique variety. It saves photo taking time if it's already listed.

And you can easily see pricing/sales at keepa.com

Thanks Robert. I'd lover to have a way of not having to take photos ,but as you say, a lot of my stuff is old so not the 'normal' sort of thing. I'd love a huge barn, like the Scavenger Life people! They have over 7 thousand things listed!!!!

I'm not sure I'd want to deal with that many items and shipping them all out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71